CR4 - The Engineer's Place for News and Discussion ®

Previous in Forum: How to Reduce Torque Miss Defects on Engine Assembly Line   Next in Forum: 2.0mm Music Wire
Close
Close
Close
13 comments
Guru
Engineering Fields - Manufacturing Engineering - Hobbies - Musician - Engineering Fields - Mechanical Engineering - Popular Science - Weaponology -

Good Answers: 38

Anti-Trip Hose Cover

08/24/2015 3:36 PM

Years ago, when I was working as a machinist, I remember these 6" or 8" wide rubber strips that were put on top of rubber air hoses that ran along the floor; blow-off hoses for the machines. They were there so people wouldn't trip on the hoses. Beveled on each side like a speed bump. And low profile.

I look for them now, and all I see is big hard plastic types that you can drive across. Or really narrow ones, about 3" wide that are too light to stay in place. What I've found are listed as "cable protectors". I'm not sure if those are what I'm looking for. Anyone know where I can get the wide rubber ones? Or what they are called?

Register to Reply
User-tagged by 1 user
Interested in this topic? By joining CR4 you can "subscribe" to
this discussion and receive notification when new comments are added.

Comments rated to be "almost" Good Answers:

Check out these comments that don't yet have enough votes to be "official" good answers and, if you agree with them, rate them!
Guru
United Kingdom - Member - Old New Member

Good Answers: 79

Re: Anti-Trip Hose Cover

08/24/2015 4:02 PM
Engineering Fields - Manufacturing Engineering - Hobbies - Musician - Engineering Fields - Mechanical Engineering - Popular Science - Weaponology -

In reply to #1

08/24/2015 4:37 PM

Those are similar to what I'm looking for, but I believe what I'm looking for was made specifically for machine shop floors, for air hoses. Not so much to protect whats under it, but more to just prevent tripping and stay within OSHA standards.