CR4® - The Engineer's Place for News and Discussion®

Previous in Forum: U.S. Census Bureau Daily Feature - 1st Engineering School   Next in Forum: Katherine Johnson to be Awarded the Presidential Medal of Freedom
Close
Close
Close
2 comments
Participant

ASME II D Subpart 3 Charts and Tables for Determining Shell Thickness

11/11/2015 7:03 PM

I have a question about the chart in the back of the 2010 ASME II D subpart 3 for determining shell thickness of components under external pressure; chart for figure ( G) page 748.

L / Do=90/180=1/2 and Do/t =180/.25=720 and to determine factor ( A ) . To read the chart they say to look to the left of the chart go vertical up the chart to .5 , then move horizontally to the right until it falls between 600 and 800 of Do/t, then move down vertically to the bottom. In my study book the answer is .00015

I am studying for the API / 510 exam and don't understand how they get .00015 at the bottom of the chart.

please help, I've scratched my head so much I'm going bald

Register to Reply
Interested in this topic? By joining CR4 you can "subscribe" to
this discussion and receive notification when new comments are added.
Guru

Good Answers: 1588

Re: ASME II D Subpart 3 Charts and Tables for Determining Shell Thickness

11/11/2015 11:00 PM

I'm looking at page 748. Seems normal to me.

Register to Reply
Guru

Good Answers: 118

Re: ASME II D Subpart 3 Charts and Tables for Determining Shell Thickness

12/03/2015 5:26 AM

I don't have ASME II, but why do you think you should be able to see how they get it? I assume the figure 0.00015 is used in a formula or something to give shell thickness. If there was a formula for factor A there'd be no need for the chart. But I'm not keen on charts like that as it's easy to get a decimal point out.