CR4® - The Engineer's Place for News and Discussion®

Previous in Forum: Cell Phone as PC   Next in Forum: What Laptop Do You Recommend?
Close
Close
Close
3 comments
Power-User

Good Answers: 3

Changing Mobile Providers

01/20/2016 11:51 AM

Cell phone changes - (This is referring to older(2007) phones and newer android phones. I have no experience with Iphones and don't know if this will apply to them)

The mobile providers will gladly give you a good deal and entice you to port over to their service. If you get a shiny new phone in the process, good for you. However, if you try to use your old phone, you should be aware of a few issues you may have, that I learned the hard way in the last few weeks.

(I gave AT&T a chance to modify our features and price to stay with them. They didn't, until after we had already started switching. Too little and too late)

When upgrading a phone, most people don't get the "free" phone for two year contract anymore. That way, you're basically renting it. Last time we upgraded, I bought used phones that were last year's models for about half price. I looked for phones that came with a good protective case that were in pristine condition. I figured that for that typical two year life of the phone, we could afford to buy two of them for the price of new ones with insurance.

- Unlocking: Providers lock their phones when you get one with a contract. As soon as that contract is over, you have effectively paid for the phone and the provider is legally required to unlock it, if you request it. It's a good idea to go ahead and have it unlocked when it's eligible. It's easy. Just go to the provider's website, enter your IMEI number and submit an unlock request. I did that for some 2008 vintage phones and it took all of four minutes to get the unlock code. A few weeks later, I submitted a request for some newer phones and some took (the promised) two days. One of them ended up taking six days. Meanwhile I used an old pre-android antique.