CR4 - The Engineer's Place for News and Discussion ®

Previous in Forum: Carbon3D Unveils Breakthrough CLIP 3D Printing Technology, 25-100X Faster   Next in Forum: Shipping
Close
Close
Close
50 comments
Guru
Engineering Fields - Manufacturing Engineering - Hobbies - Musician - Engineering Fields - Mechanical Engineering - Popular Science - Weaponology -

Good Answers: 38

Different Countersink Bits

04/20/2016 8:56 AM

Could some of you master machinists please explain to me the different uses, or pros & cons of the two major types of countersink bits? My guys are using bits like the 3rd from the left, and they are breaking constantly. The material is a stamped stainless steel part, 1/4" thick. Years ago when I was a machinist, I used both styles, but never really knew why one was chosen over the other. The obvious choice to me is to use the other type to stop the chipping of the tool. Suggestions? Thank you for your assistance.

Register to Reply
Interested in this topic? By joining CR4 you can "subscribe" to
this discussion and receive notification when new comments are added.

Comments rated to be Good Answers:

These comments received enough positive ratings to make them "good answers".

Comments rated to be "almost" Good Answers:

Check out these comments that don't yet have enough votes to be "official" good answers and, if you agree with them, rate them!
Guru

Good Answers: 1533

Re: Different Countersink Bits

04/20/2016 9:19 AM

I've never used the third from the left type. Only one cutting surface as opposed to 3, 4 5 or 6 cutters seems a no brainer to me.

Could be a de-burring tool instead of a countersink tool, but that's a guess.

Register to Reply
Commentator

Good Answers: 4
In reply to #1

04/21/2016 2:50 AM

The multi cutting countersink device in some cases and with different materials leave an uneven, not nice looking surface.