CR4® - The Engineer's Place for News and Discussion®

Previous in Forum: Computer Science Education Week, December 7-13   Next in Forum: Is Cursive Going The Way Of The VCR?
Close
Close
Close
12 comments
Associate
Engineering Fields - Power Engineering - New Member

Good Answers: 2

Masters of Science / Engineering in Electrical Engineering

04/23/2016 7:15 PM

Good day fellow Engineers, i would like again to consult all of you with regards to the above mentioned subject.

First i will also give my academic and field experience so you can help me easily / suggest or even advise properly.

I am 26 years old will be turning 27 this December, i got my Bachelor's degree back in the year 2011, got my professional license in 2012 at the age of 22 and has 4 years experience in the Power Systems track of Electrical Engineering particularly in Protection, Energy Meters, Power Systems Simulation and switchgears.

Question, when is it advisable to pursue a Master's degree? Based from your experience what age do you took your MSEE/MEEE degree? and How long? What is the practical advantage of having one in your current work? Also is it true that it is too hard to come up with a topic that will be the highlight of your thesis? If so can you give me some practical example/ ideas on how you came up with a topic during the course of your MSEE/MEEE study.

My future plan is that after i've gain field experience, i will enter in the academe and share my knowledge to students. Also i know that to qualify as an instructor i need to be at least a Master's degree holder and advantage if i took Ph.D study.

I hope that you can help me with this guys, reason why i always ask here instead of google is that i really enjoy the interaction here, the suggestions that each member contributes and most of all the sharing of knowledge.

Thank you so much and have a great day ahead.

Register to Reply
Interested in this topic? By joining CR4 you can "subscribe" to