CR4 - The Engineer's Place for News and Discussion ®

Previous in Forum: Step Response & Impulse Response   Next in Forum: Flame Detector Orientation Check
Close
Close
Close
31 comments
Commentator

Image Processing

05/21/2016 6:39 AM

Hi,

I got a query, we have 300 types of screws all of them are different in length or size, now we have team which face difficulty in identifying them or loose much time in comparing the data manually. Can we solve this problem through image processing, I have little knowledge in PLC but it seems difficult to solve it through PLC.

Kindly, provide the methods which can be help full.

Thanks in advance!

Register to Reply
Interested in this topic? By joining CR4 you can "subscribe" to
this discussion and receive notification when new comments are added.

Comments rated to be "almost" Good Answers:

Check out these comments that don't yet have enough votes to be "official" good answers and, if you agree with them, rate them!
Guru

Good Answers: 120

Re: Image Processing

05/21/2016 7:45 AM

Yes. You need to investigate Machine Vision Systems. However the available systems are expensive, difficult to program, and have limitations.

Good Answers: 766

05/21/2016 11:09 AM

How many pieces total and why are they all mixed together?

Unless you a have literal tons of these to sort out every week good old fashioned human sorting is going to be cheaper than what a machine vision and related mechanical systems are going to cost you.

Register to Reply
Guru

Good Answers: 1558

05/21/2016 11:19 AM

I am constantly amazed by some of the questions asked here.

This self-inflicted problem should never have happened to begin with.

Throw them all away and buy more of each type. The boxes they come in will have their dimensions/names/identification on the outside.

Put the new screws into bins which are labeled.

This will be much cheaper than sorting them and lots cheaper than a vision system