CR4 - The Engineer's Place for News and Discussion ®
Login | Register for Engineering Community (CR4)

Previous in Forum: RJ45 Connectors For CAT-7 Cables   Next in Forum: Belt Scale Poor Repeatability
Close
Close
Close
10 comments

Can an Instrumentation Engineer Work as a Process Engineer?

07/30/2016 12:15 PM

I am an instrumentation engineering student and was planning to do masters in process engineering so could someone tell me whether a instrumentation engineer can work as a process engineer and would it be a good choice to pursue masters in process engineering after obtaining a bacherlor degree in nstrumentation engineering?

Register to Reply
Interested in this topic? By joining CR4 you can "subscribe" to
this discussion and receive notification when new comments are added.

Comments rated to be Good Answers:

These comments received enough positive ratings to make them "good answers".

Comments rated to be "almost" Good Answers:

Check out these comments that don't yet have enough votes to be "official" good answers and, if you agree with them, rate them!
Guru

Good Answers: 1532

Re: Can an Instrumentation Engineer Work as a Process Engineer?

07/30/2016 12:51 PM

Do it the other way round IF you want to be a process engineer.

My experience with the instrument guys who have worked for me is that they know instrumentation very well (why I hired them) but do not know processes and must have that part of their job brought to them by a process guy.

Where I worked at the time we had numerous processes to work with and there was no way one guy could have ever done both.

Sadly, we KNOW NOTHING about you or your talents, what field you want to go into, so that's about it.

I'll add this, if you came to me with an instrumentation degree, then a masters in process, I would not hire you as a process engineer.

Register to Reply
Guru

Good Answers: 963

07/30/2016 2:49 PM

You could work as a process control system engineer.....maybe

Education/Experience: