CR4® - The Engineer's Place for News and Discussion®

Previous in Forum: Project Development   Next in Forum: Screw Conveyor Advice Required
Close
Close
Close
11 comments

Mechanical Engineering Studies Help Required

08/14/2016 6:08 PM

For my Level 6, I have do a technical design report, and the instructions are: " For this written assessment task you are required to write a technical design report in which you present a design problem, describe 2-3 possible solutions (in words and sketches), and then recommend one of these solutions. " As I am new to this field, I don't have much knowledge, I was thinking of doing a vibration on a drive motor of a Pre-Breaker, would that be a design problem? if not what topics would you guys recommend?

Thanks in advance

Register to Reply
Interested in this topic? By joining CR4 you can "subscribe" to
this discussion and receive notification when new comments are added.

Comments rated to be "almost" Good Answers:

Check out these comments that don't yet have enough votes to be "official" good answers and, if you agree with them, rate them!
Guru

Good Answers: 1598

Re: Mechanical Engineering Studies Help Required

08/14/2016 6:45 PM

So, you have identified a problem, mechanical vibration.

Now, study the causes of the vibration and how you might reduce the vibration transmitted into the machine, and into the surrounding environment.

Loosening of fasteners, mounts, wiring, etc.

Noise is a problem caused by vibration transmitted through the air and even the human body.

Possible solutions: damping vibration with mounts, either rubber or some other material.

Electronic vibration cancellation? Look at active automotive suspensions and motor mounts.

Air bearings?

Register to Reply

In reply to #1

08/14/2016 7:08 PM

I have just been informed that my topic choice is not suitable, would you have any other ideas that could work as a design problem in engineering?

Register to Reply
Guru

Good Answers: 1598
In reply to #2