CR4 - The Engineer's Place for News and Discussion ®


Previous in Forum: How Different Is Instrumentation Compared To Power Engineering?   Next in Forum: Krohne Magnetic Flowmeter
Close
Close
Close
6 comments
Participant

Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 3

Profibus Using Multimeter

09/17/2016 12:38 AM

Is it possible to troubleshoot profibus cable using a multi-meter?

Register to Reply
Interested in this topic? By joining CR4 you can "subscribe" to
this discussion and receive notification when new comments are added.

Comments rated to be "almost" Good Answers:

Check out these comments that don't yet have enough votes to be "official" good answers and, if you agree with them, rate them!
Guru

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: at the beach in Florida
Posts: 18676
Good Answers: 1087
#1

Re: PROFIBUS USING MULTIMETER

09/17/2016 1:28 AM

Please click on your choice of answer....

__________________
Life is like riding a bicycle. To keep your balance you must keep moving. A.E.
Register to Reply
Guru

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Out of your mind! Not in sight!
Posts: 3956
Good Answers: 91
#2
In reply to #1

Re: PROFIBUS USING MULTIMETER

09/17/2016 5:03 AM

YO!

__________________
Common Sense Dictates
Register to Reply
Guru

Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 648
Good Answers: 171
#3

Re: PROFIBUS USING MULTIMETER

09/17/2016 12:23 PM

Certainly, you can check continuity or resistance of a Profibus cable with a multimeter. A pre-startup cable check usually involves checking PA+ to PA- (which should be infinite resistance) for a short. However, these types of wiring/cabling checks are only a fraction of the task needed to troubleshoot a Profibus communications problem.

There are several documents on the web that cover Profibus troubleshooting.
http://www.automation.siemens.com/w1/efiles/weighing/techn_publications/Profibus_en.pdf

a power point:
http://www.profibus.com/uploads/media/pxddamkey%5B9099%5D_PROFIBUS%20health%20checking-Andy%20Verwer.pdf

People tell me that unless a plant has a service contract with a service firm that can troubleshoot Profibus, that buying a Profibus network analyzer is usually a required for maintaining a Profibus network,

Register to Reply Score 1 for Good Answer
Guru

Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 5517
Good Answers: 544
#4

Re: PROFIBUS USING MULTIMETER

09/17/2016 12:23 PM

It depends on what your trouble is...

Register to Reply
Guru
Engineering Fields - Electrical Engineering - Been there, done that, still doing it. Engineering Fields - Control Engineering - New Member

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Long Island NY
Posts: 12096
Good Answers: 767
#5

Re: PROFIBUS USING MULTIMETER

09/17/2016 12:31 PM

For the most common profibus cable problems a multimeter in the hands of a good technician/engineer is sufficient to solve these problems. To solve every possible cabling problem requires more instrumentation and a far better understanding of profibus communication.

__________________
"Don't disturb my circles." translation of Archimedes last words
Register to Reply Score 1 for Good Answer
Guru
Engineering Fields - Power Engineering - New Member

Join Date: May 2007
Location: NYC metropolitan area.
Posts: 2989
Good Answers: 416
#6

Re: Profibus Using Multimeter

09/17/2016 4:15 PM

Only if you are interested in cable faults such as shorts, opens, and crossed wires. It's no different than troubleshooting CAT5 ethernet cable, you can find the wiring faults, but if you want to troubleshoot the communication over the cable you will need the proper network analyzer.

This presentation may help you understand why.

__________________
Curious minds want to know, engineering minds get answers....
Register to Reply
Register to Reply 6 comments
Interested in this topic? By joining CR4 you can "subscribe" to
this discussion and receive notification when new comments are added.

Comments rated to be "almost" Good Answers:

Check out these comments that don't yet have enough votes to be "official" good answers and, if you agree with them, rate them!
Copy to Clipboard

Users who posted comments:

IdeaSmith (1); Iris (1); RAMConsult (1); redfred (1); Rixter (1); SolarEagle (1)

Previous in Forum: How Different Is Instrumentation Compared To Power Engineering?   Next in Forum: Krohne Magnetic Flowmeter

Advertisement