CR4® - The Engineer's Place for News and Discussion®

Previous in Forum: Improved Method for Examining Building Damage   Next in Forum: Land Surveyor Engineer in UK
Close
Close
Close
9 comments
Active Contributor

How to Effectively Use Modern Technology to Reduce the Effort of Counting Lights

11/03/2016 6:33 PM

Hello Friends & Members here ,
I am a project engineer and currently working for an engineering consultancy . I come across many projects and need to undertake site visits to count the number of installed lights.
The current way of doing this is that we physically go on the site , have a site plan and count the lights manually.
Now we are in the process of an engineering solution to this problem of ours which actually does take a lot of time and effort in doing so.

Solution 1 :- Use a GO-PRO kind of an instrument to record and save the whole exercise on site. However, it needs a stabiliser and takes away a good amount of space (bytes) every time.

Solution 2 :- Use a 360-degree camera , but again we deal with car park lighting upgrades and can't capture everything

So , I am in a situation where I need your help in developing a solution with which we can think smartly and do the whole job effectively without so much of effort and time spent.
Looking forward to solutions.
Thanks

Register to Reply
This discussion was "closed" on 11/04/2016 9:01 AM. No new comments are allowed.
Message from admins:
This is a duplicate thread. Please see original: http://cr4.globalspec.com/thread/109439
Guru
Technical Fields - Technical Writing - New Member Engineering Fields - Piping Design Engineering - New Member

Good Answers: 753

Re: How to effectively use modern technology to reduce the effort of counting lights

11/03/2016 7:00 PM

See other copy of thread.

Good Answers: 1599

Re: How to effectively use modern technology to reduce the effort of counting lights

11/03/2016 7:24 PM