CR4® - The Engineer's Place for News and Discussion®

Previous in Forum: Marvelous Cube: Balance, Jump,....   Next in Forum: College Project
Close
Close
Close
31 comments
Power-User

Good Answers: 5

Sheet Metal Working Advice

12/12/2016 4:39 AM

I have a stainless steel bowl with a diameter of roughly 28 cm. The sheet is about 0.5 mm thick. The bowl is in the shape of a hemisphere except for an approximately 7 cm diameter flat base at the south pole First, will the base be able to be pressed out to form a full hemisphere without tearing or buckling and second what would be the best way to go about it. I thought I would make a cap with the right shape, that is with the end radiused off to 14 cm and with a diameter of 7 cm. Would brass, hardwood or aluminum do the job Any advice would be appreciated. This is not a homework question though I am at home and need a hollow stainless steel ball for a project that I have been designing for over 40 years and finally am able to proceed with it. Thanks.

Register to Reply
Interested in this topic? By joining CR4 you can "subscribe" to
this discussion and receive notification when new comments are added.

Comments rated to be Good Answers:

These comments received enough positive ratings to make them "good answers".

Comments rated to be "almost" Good Answers:

Check out these comments that don't yet have enough votes to be "official" good answers and, if you agree with them, rate them!
Anonymous Poster #1

Re: sheet metal working advice

12/12/2016 5:01 AM

Register to Reply
Guru
United Kingdom - Member - Indeterminate Engineering Fields - Control Engineering - New Member

Location: In the bothy, 7 chains down the line from Dodman's Lane level crossing, in the nation formerly known as Great Britain, and now disconnecting ["brexit" - ugh] as Little England and Wales (not too sure about Wales bit, either). Kettle's on.
Good Answers: 703
In reply to #1

12/12/2016 8:10 AM

Can't beat that [pun intended].