CR4® - The Engineer's Place for News and Discussion®

Previous in Forum: Sheet Metal Working Advice   Next in Forum: Electrical Engineering Project
Close
Close
Close
50 comments
Active Contributor

College Project

12/17/2016 5:49 PM

I'm a mechanical engineer student and I'm looking for help from people on my project as the lecturer that deals with electrical engineering if been off sick for the past few weeks and might be for the foreseeable future. So while my college deals with that i need to move with my project on ratchet screwdrivers and some improvement i think i could be made to them but I'm stuck at this hurdle which is for one of the experiments i need a electrical sensor that can record each linear movement of the screw as it is turn by the screwdriver.

What type of electrical sensor would be best to measure this? I just need to be pointed in the right direction so I can research and build this experiment.

thanks

Register to Reply
Interested in this topic? By joining CR4 you can "subscribe" to
this discussion and receive notification when new comments are added.

Comments rated to be "almost" Good Answers:

Check out these comments that don't yet have enough votes to be "official" good answers and, if you agree with them, rate them!
Guru

Good Answers: 1598

Re: College project

12/17/2016 6:05 PM

How about an optical encoder wheel attached to the screw driver.

Gurley Precision Instruments

Not sure this is exactly what you're looking for?

Or, maybe

Sensors for displacement, distance & position | Micro-Epsilon ...

Rotary position sensors - High speed operation to 60.000 rpm - rls.si‎

Or, low tech you could use a dial indicator linked to the screw driver.

Register to Reply
Active Contributor

In reply to #1

12/18/2016 11:55 AM

The sensor is for finding the disaplacement of the screw not the screwdriver so a optical encoder on the srew driver wont measure what i need.