CR4® - The Engineer's Place for News and Discussion®


Previous in Forum: False Feeders Tripping   Next in Forum: Induction Motor Trips While Shifting Star to Delta Connection
Close
Close
Close
5 comments
Participant

Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 1

Can I Replace A Residential RCCB with RCBO?

02/04/2017 11:55 AM

example

RCCB- legrand 402493

RCBO- legrand 411327

Register to Reply
Interested in this topic? By joining CR4 you can "subscribe" to
this discussion and receive notification when new comments are added.

Comments rated to be Good Answers:

These comments received enough positive ratings to make them "good answers".
Guru

Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 39916
Good Answers: 1588
#1

Re: Can I replace an residential RCCB with RCBO

02/04/2017 12:25 PM
Register to Reply Score 1 for Off Topic
3
Power-User
New Zealand - Member - Kiwi

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand
Posts: 304
Good Answers: 28
#2

Re: Can I replace an residential RCCB with RCBO

02/04/2017 3:55 PM

From a legal standpoint, it depends on where you are and what local rules apply.

From a technical standpoint, the RCBO has overcurrent protection built in as well as the RCD function, so the existing overcurrent protection will be redundant if the overcurrent rating of the RCBO is correct for the circuit that it is protecting.

__________________
paulusgnome
Register to Reply Good Answer (Score 3)
Guru
United Kingdom - Member - New Member

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Resting under the Major Oak
Posts: 4266
Good Answers: 176
#3
In reply to #2

Re: Can I replace an residential RCCB with RCBO

02/04/2017 7:13 PM

I doubt part P will apply.

__________________
Pessimists are rarely disappointed.
Register to Reply
Guru
United Kingdom - Member - Indeterminate Engineering Fields - Control Engineering - New Member

Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: In the bothy, 7 chains down the line from Dodman's Lane level crossing, in the nation formerly known as Great Britain, and now disconnecting as Little England and Wales (not too sure about Wales bit, either). Kettle's on.
Posts: 26719
Good Answers: 701
#4

Re: Can I Replace A Residential RCCB with RCBO?

02/06/2017 2:52 AM

...which begs the question as to why overload protection is needed as an add-on now in the RCBO, if it wasn't needed when the RCCB was originally installed (rhetorical question - NNTR)?

If in doubt consult a local qualified Electrician.

__________________
"Did you get my e-mail?" - "The biggest problem in communication is the illusion that it has taken place" - George Bernard Shaw, 1856
Register to Reply
Associate

Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Mumbai, India
Posts: 25
#5

Re: Can I Replace A Residential RCCB with RCBO?

03/18/2017 8:36 AM

Yes, of course. Size must be same in terms of modules or DB would have to have space to accomodate RCBO if of higher Modular Size then RCCB.

RCBO will give additional Overcurrent (O/L & S/C) Protection also apart from E/L protection which RCCB would have given.

Why this question but?

Regards,

Register to Reply
Register to Reply 5 comments
Interested in this topic? By joining CR4 you can "subscribe" to
this discussion and receive notification when new comments are added.

Comments rated to be Good Answers:

These comments received enough positive ratings to make them "good answers".
Copy to Clipboard

Users who posted comments:

Jignesh Shah (1); lyn (1); Paulusgnome (1); PWSlack (1); TonyS (1)

Previous in Forum: False Feeders Tripping   Next in Forum: Induction Motor Trips While Shifting Star to Delta Connection

Advertisement