CR4 - The Engineer's Place for News and Discussion ®


Previous in Forum: I Need The Specific Transducer With db Re Micro Pascal At 1k For Underwater Comm   Next in Forum: What Determines The Communication Speed? Is It The Physical Link's Speed?
Close
Close
Close
15 comments
Power-User

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Mindanao, Philippines
Posts: 247
Good Answers: 25

Possible To Remotely Turn Services On A Cell Phone?

02/15/2017 1:22 AM

Recently, I had a large surcharge added to my cell charges because I was using "cellular data." The thing is, I never do that - I have cheaper ways to obtain internet services. My wife checked out the setting (I "inherited" the phone from her) and the service was in fact on, but I had never turned it on, and the procedure seems too complicated (three screens) to happen accidentally. It could not have been on the entire time I had the phone, or the charges would have been astronomical instead of merely excessive.

I'm curious as to whether such a service can be turned on remotely.

Register to Reply
Interested in this topic? By joining CR4 you can "subscribe" to
this discussion and receive notification when new comments are added.
Guru

Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 2243
Good Answers: 85
#1

Re: Possible to remotely turn on services on a cell phone?

02/15/2017 2:44 AM

Recent software update?

Register to Reply
Guru

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Out of your mind! Not in sight!
Posts: 3911
Good Answers: 89
#2

Re: Possible to remotely turn on services on a cell phone?

02/15/2017 3:21 AM

Recent install of software?

Some tell you that they require data services to be turned on and they would not work/install if it wasn't.

Usually you let it install and then turn off the service.

__________________
Common Sense Dictates
Register to Reply
Power-User

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Mindanao, Philippines
Posts: 247
Good Answers: 25
#3
In reply to #2

Re: Possible to remotely turn on services on a cell phone?

02/15/2017 5:26 AM

Not by me, and I'm sure if my wife had installed the update she would have remembered it. The fact that data was on was a surprise to her, too.

Is that the only possiblity?

Register to Reply
Guru

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Earth - I think.
Posts: 1924
Good Answers: 148
#4
In reply to #3

Re: Possible to remotely turn on services on a cell phone?

02/15/2017 9:06 AM

It could have been software that was installed quite some time ago, even something that came bundled with the phone.

Software like Google maps is common these days, and when you use that function (i.e. to find someplace), it turns on the associated services it needs.

These days, you just have to keep an eye on your phone settings like it was a horny teenager.

__________________
TANSTAAFL (If you don't know what that means, Google it - yourself)
Register to Reply
Guru

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Lubbock, Texas
Posts: 9210
Good Answers: 115
#5
In reply to #4

Re: Possible to remotely turn on services on a cell phone?

02/15/2017 12:10 PM

Gut idee!

__________________
If it ain't broke, don't fix it. Just build a better one.
Register to Reply
Power-User

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Mindanao, Philippines
Posts: 247
Good Answers: 25
#6
In reply to #4

Re: Possible to remotely turn on services on a cell phone?

02/15/2017 5:47 PM

Latest bulletin - could have been a software update.

Many thanks!

Register to Reply
Member

Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 6
Good Answers: 1
#7

Re: Possible To Remotely Turn Services On A Cell Phone?

02/16/2017 9:31 AM

two things, yes it can get turned on by some of the system automatic updates. additionally, I had this problem as I had inadvertently turned my WIFI OFF which then ran my data up.

Register to Reply
Guru

Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Madison, WI.
Posts: 902
Good Answers: 39
#8

Re: Possible To Remotely Turn Services On A Cell Phone?

02/16/2017 9:57 AM

Most likely, when you switched it over from her to you the phone rebooted back to its defaults as would all installed software.

__________________
Knowing is the end result of learning, not believing.
Register to Reply
Power-User

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Mindanao, Philippines
Posts: 247
Good Answers: 25
#10
In reply to #8

Re: Possible To Remotely Turn Services On A Cell Phone?

02/16/2017 9:17 PM

Would have to be more recent. If it had been on since she passed it to me, I would have to take out a mortgage.

Register to Reply
Guru

Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 622
Good Answers: 13
#9

Re: Possible To Remotely Turn Services On A Cell Phone?

02/16/2017 9:07 PM

one of the penalties for owning a "phart smone"

Register to Reply
Power-User

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Mindanao, Philippines
Posts: 247
Good Answers: 25
#11
In reply to #9

Re: Possible To Remotely Turn Services On A Cell Phone?

02/18/2017 3:57 AM

I'm actually starting to miss my first (analog!) cell phone.

Register to Reply
Guru

Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 622
Good Answers: 13
#12
In reply to #11

Re: Possible To Remotely Turn Services On A Cell Phone?

02/18/2017 10:40 PM

I use "net 10" services, my needs are simple, short, and as I may travel across states, a system that does not charge extra for use of other nets...I have been using the same LG model for appx. 10 years, all the numbers have long since worn off so I'm not sure which it is, but it looks similar to a 'blackberry' and will link to internet if necessary, but I seldom push the multimedia mode button unless I need to check email on the road. I detest 'touch screen' phones, tried, don't like. Of all the services I've used over the last 30+ years, Net10 has been the most economical, and given me service from California to Florida and Maine and I very seldom find myself in a dead zone.

Register to Reply
Power-User

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Mindanao, Philippines
Posts: 247
Good Answers: 25
#13
In reply to #12

Re: Possible To Remotely Turn Services On A Cell Phone?

02/19/2017 9:41 PM

I notice that the "latest and greatest" phone that my wife has received as part of her provider subscription has a separate keyboard again. Problem is: it's modeled after the touch-tone keypad, so you have to select one of three possibilities when entering text.They need to do better than that!

Register to Reply
Guru

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Lubbock, Texas
Posts: 9210
Good Answers: 115
#14
In reply to #13

Re: Possible To Remotely Turn Services On A Cell Phone?

03/08/2017 11:40 AM

Based on the reports about WikiLeaks newest dump of CIA intel gathering secrets, it seems that phones are not the only things being turned on. Some CIA creep somewhere is watching some old lady stretch exercise in her panties in her living room in front of her TV.

__________________
If it ain't broke, don't fix it. Just build a better one.
Register to Reply
Guru

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Lubbock, Texas
Posts: 9210
Good Answers: 115
#15
In reply to #14

Re: Possible To Remotely Turn Services On A Cell Phone?

03/09/2017 1:24 PM

According to the latest Wiki Leaks, and whomever committed the heinous felonies to get this information out of the CIA, the CIA (and NSA, FBI, the rest of alphabet soup) has had the ability to listen in on your cell phone (whomever you are talking to, etc.) without it apparently being turned on (by you). Maybe they updated it for you, so it would "work" better for them. Although it is supposed to be a felony for them to listen in on you without a FISA warrant here in the USA. In Canada, good luck. In Mexico, it is the cartel that is listening to you.

By the way, any smart device that can connect to internet at all is susceptible to these techniques. Don't ask me if they can listen to an older digital HDTV, although if there is even a telephone line on your cable or satellite box, be forewarned. The cable company is not the only one listening to you with your PPV or movie on demand.

__________________
If it ain't broke, don't fix it. Just build a better one.
Register to Reply
Register to Reply 15 comments
Interested in this topic? By joining CR4 you can "subscribe" to
this discussion and receive notification when new comments are added.
Copy to Clipboard

Users who posted comments:

Andrew Westman (1); Don Blashka (1); geraldpaxton (2); IdeaSmith (1); James Stewart (3); Kilowatt0 (1); piolenc (5); rashavarek (1)

Previous in Forum: I Need The Specific Transducer With db Re Micro Pascal At 1k For Underwater Comm   Next in Forum: What Determines The Communication Speed? Is It The Physical Link's Speed?

Advertisement