CR4 - The Engineer's Place for News and Discussion ®

Previous in Forum: Capacitive Charging On Ungrounded Systems   Next in Forum: 3-Phase Root Switching?
Close
Close
Close
45 comments
Associate

Anyone Have a Life Preserver I Can Borrow

02/15/2017 3:43 PM

So i recently graduated and started my first job.

Anyone have any tips because i feel like ill be lucky if i survive the first week.

I keep getting asked to do things i never said that i knew how to do and when people find out i dont know how im getting some really awful looks from project managers

I feel as if im being set up for failure. Very little support and very little internal infrastructure for me to rely on. They have me drafting stuff. i never in any line of my resume said i know how to do drafting and i have NEVER used auto cad before. I signed up for an entry level controls job.

I am on a project that the senior guy is leaving the company and everyone keeps looking to me to fill his shoes. (he has a masters and 10+ years of experience)

Not to sure what to do.

Now on to the real reason im posting.

I took a protections class a long time ago but cant remember what a "plug" is in the protections world. I tried to find some research on it but of course searching electrical plug protections just brings up surge strips from home depot.

Can someone direct me towards something that may jog my memory. I am not a power engineer nor would i ever claim to be.

Its going to be a really ruff couple of weeks.

Register to Reply
Interested in this topic? By joining CR4 you can "subscribe" to
this discussion and receive notification when new comments are added.

Comments rated to be Good Answers:

These comments received enough positive ratings to make them "good answers".

Comments rated to be "almost" Good Answers:

Check out these comments that don't yet have enough votes to be "official" good answers and, if you agree with them, rate them!
Guru
Engineering Fields - Civil Engineering - New Member