CR4 - The Engineer's Place for News and Discussion ®
Login | Register for Engineering Community (CR4)

Previous in Forum: Pics Of The Day   Next in Forum: Hello, I Am A Budding Engineer And I Want Professional Feedback On My Work.
Close
Close
Close
19 comments
Guru
Hobbies - RC Aircraft - New Member

Good Answers: 8

De-Humidifier Coils Icing Up

03/06/2017 1:27 PM

I have a small homeowner type of a de-humidifier I use down in my clock shop spray booth. The finish I use needs to have humidity below 50% or it fogs all up.

I have a problem lately on very humid days of it frosting over so thick, that the ice is acting like an insulator and not taking any more water out of the air.

Any simple fix for this other than shutting the unit off,, let it melt, then start it up again?

I was thinking how about some of those super hydro phobic coatings? Like the Rustoleum never wet etc.

If the water cant stick to the coil, it cant freeze on it too.

But then if it cant stick, can the water still condence onto it so the water is removed from the air?

Register to Reply
Interested in this topic? By joining CR4 you can "subscribe" to
this discussion and receive notification when new comments are added.

Comments rated to be Good Answers:

These comments received enough positive ratings to make them "good answers".

Comments rated to be "almost" Good Answers:

Check out these comments that don't yet have enough votes to be "official" good answers and, if you agree with them, rate them!
Guru
Engineering Fields - Electrical Engineering - Been there, done that, still doing it. Engineering Fields - Control Engineering - New Member

Good Answers: 735

Re: De-Humidifier Coils Icing Up

03/06/2017 1:33 PM

My WAG is that your fan is not moving enough air across the cooling coils. ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

United Kingdom - Member - Indeterminate Engineering Fields - Control Engineering - New Member