CR4 - The Engineer's Place for News and Discussion ®


Previous in Forum: Fish Descaling  
Close
Close
Close
34 comments
Participant

Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 1

Torque Needed By Auger Drill

03/14/2017 6:18 AM

what will be the torue required by an auger drill to dig a hole on ground ?

Register to Reply
Interested in this topic? By joining CR4 you can "subscribe" to
this discussion and receive notification when new comments are added.

Comments rated to be Good Answers:

These comments received enough positive ratings to make them "good answers".

Comments rated to be "almost" Good Answers:

Check out these comments that don't yet have enough votes to be "official" good answers and, if you agree with them, rate them!
Guru
Technical Fields - Technical Writing - New Member Engineering Fields - Piping Design Engineering - New Member

Join Date: May 2009
Location: Richland, WA, USA
Posts: 19595
Good Answers: 736
#1

Re: torque needed by auger drill

03/14/2017 6:22 AM

Indeterminate. For instance, it depends on how hard it is shoved into the ground, as well as the hardness of the ground and the proportion of sizable rocks in it.

__________________
In vino veritas; in cervisia carmen; in aqua E. coli.
Register to Reply
2
Guru
United Kingdom - Member - Indeterminate Engineering Fields - Control Engineering - New Member

Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: In the bothy, 7 chains down the line from Dodman's Lane level crossing, in the nation formerly known as Great Britain, and now disconnecting as Little England and Wales (not too sure about Wales bit, either). Kettle's on.
Posts: 25778
Good Answers: 678
#2

Re: torque needed by auger drill

03/14/2017 6:25 AM

Doesn't it depend on the characteristics of the ground, the diameter of the auger, the angular velocity, the pitch of the blade, how far it is in the ground and the amount of force being applied to push it in?

__________________
"Did you get my e-mail?" - "The biggest problem in communication is the illusion that it has taken place" - George Bernard Shaw, 1856
Register to Reply Good Answer (Score 2)
Guru
Engineering Fields - Electrical Engineering - Been there, done that, still doing it. Engineering Fields - Control Engineering - New Member

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Long Island NY
Posts: 11789
Good Answers: 738
#3

Re: Torque Needed By Auger Drill

03/14/2017 8:29 AM

It should be less torque than the coupling can handle.

__________________
"Don't disturb my circles." translation of Archimedes last words
Register to Reply
Anonymous Poster #1
#4

Re: Torque Needed By Auger Drill

03/14/2017 8:52 AM

ADMIN: Deleted Post

Vulgar/Rude/Improper Behavior: This post was deleted because it did not adhere to the behavioral policies of the site. Please review Section 14 of the CR4 Site FAQ and the Rules of Conduct.

Register to Reply Off Topic (Score 5)
Guru

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Lubbock, Texas
Posts: 9326
Good Answers: 116
#5
In reply to #4

Re: Torque Needed By Auger Drill

03/14/2017 10:22 AM

Lyn? As I live and breathe, is that you?

__________________
If it ain't broke, don't fix it. Just build a better one.
Register to Reply
Guru

Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: South of Minot North Dakota
Posts: 7925
Good Answers: 732
#19
In reply to #5

Re: Torque Needed By Auger Drill

03/14/2017 12:32 PM

Well the ignorant blind hate attack factor behind so many of the AP posts, since he supposedly left, do seem to have a strong indication towards your theory.

Register to Reply
Guru

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Lubbock, Texas
Posts: 9326
Good Answers: 116
#6

Re: Torque Needed By Auger Drill

03/14/2017 10:23 AM

It is the torque required to turn it under the applied downward force.

__________________
If it ain't broke, don't fix it. Just build a better one.
Register to Reply
Power-User

Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 133
Good Answers: 3
#7

Re: Torque Needed By Auger Drill

03/14/2017 10:31 AM

Depends on the auger and the ground composition.

__________________
formally known as texasron
Register to Reply
Guru

Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: South of Minot North Dakota
Posts: 7925
Good Answers: 732
#8

Re: Torque Needed By Auger Drill

03/14/2017 10:35 AM

50 - 2000 foot pounds.

Register to Reply
Guru

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Lubbock, Texas
Posts: 9326
Good Answers: 116
#9
In reply to #8

Re: Torque Needed By Auger Drill

03/14/2017 10:37 AM

Around here, with caliche dirt not far under the surface, the required torque about 6" into the drilling rises to 2001 ft-lbs, and shears off the drive pin.

__________________
If it ain't broke, don't fix it. Just build a better one.
Register to Reply
Guru

Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: South of Minot North Dakota
Posts: 7925
Good Answers: 732
#13
In reply to #9

Re: Torque Needed By Auger Drill

03/14/2017 11:41 AM

Same issue here with some of the heavy clay areas even with good carbide cutters on.

Every auger we have has had the top of its shaft ripped off more than once from clay and stone binding incidents.

Given that I try to do the drilling with the tractor at just above idle so it will stall before it breaks the shear pins of twist the auger shaft off.

Register to Reply
2
Power-User

Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Seattle, WA, USA
Posts: 128
Good Answers: 8
#10

Re: Torque Needed By Auger Drill

03/14/2017 11:01 AM

Just enough torque to throw two boys across the pasture . . . There is a reason they called it a "two man" post hole digger.

__________________
You have to actively participate in the manifestations of your own joys and good fortunes - they are not ready made for the taking, they are available for the making.
Register to Reply Good Answer (Score 2)
Guru

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Lubbock, Texas
Posts: 9326
Good Answers: 116
#11
In reply to #10

Re: Torque Needed By Auger Drill

03/14/2017 11:34 AM

Nicely done!

__________________
If it ain't broke, don't fix it. Just build a better one.
Register to Reply
Guru

Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: South of Minot North Dakota
Posts: 7925
Good Answers: 732
#12
In reply to #10

Re: Torque Needed By Auger Drill

03/14/2017 11:36 AM

3 point mounted and tractor powered here.

Register to Reply
Guru

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Lubbock, Texas
Posts: 9326
Good Answers: 116
#17
In reply to #12

Re: Torque Needed By Auger Drill

03/14/2017 12:30 PM

Any time a tractor is employed, I approve!

__________________
If it ain't broke, don't fix it. Just build a better one.
Register to Reply
Guru

Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: South of Minot North Dakota
Posts: 7925
Good Answers: 732
#23
In reply to #17

Re: Torque Needed By Auger Drill

03/14/2017 4:14 PM

I'm too resourceful lazy to do it any other way!

BTW, a 12" auger on a tractor is awesome for planting seeding trees! 100+ an hour with only 2 - 3 people no matter how bad the ground is!

Beats using a friggin' shovel 100:1 on labor and 20:1 on time.

Register to Reply
Guru

Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 613
Good Answers: 7
#14

Re: Torque Needed By Auger Drill

03/14/2017 11:53 AM

I believe if you have to do that, you're gonna need a little bit of math.

__________________
It ain't those parts of the Bible that I can't understand that bother me, it is the parts that I do understand. Mark Twain
Register to Reply
2
Guru
Hobbies - DIY Welding - Wannabeabettawelda

Join Date: May 2007
Location: Annapolis, Maryland
Posts: 3926
Good Answers: 212
#15

Re: Torque Needed By Auger Drill

03/14/2017 12:22 PM

It all depends. Are there fish scales in the soil?

Register to Reply Good Answer (Score 2)
Guru
United Kingdom - Member - Indeterminate Engineering Fields - Control Engineering - New Member

Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: In the bothy, 7 chains down the line from Dodman's Lane level crossing, in the nation formerly known as Great Britain, and now disconnecting as Little England and Wales (not too sure about Wales bit, either). Kettle's on.
Posts: 25778
Good Answers: 678
#20
In reply to #15

Re: Torque Needed By Auger Drill

03/14/2017 1:23 PM

__________________
"Did you get my e-mail?" - "The biggest problem in communication is the illusion that it has taken place" - George Bernard Shaw, 1856
Register to Reply
Guru
Engineering Fields - Mechanical Engineering - New Member Fans of Old Computers - TRS-80 - New Member Popular Science - Weaponology - New Member Safety - Hazmat - New Member Hobbies - Fishing - New Member United States - Member - New Member

Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Detroit MI, USA
Posts: 1582
Good Answers: 167
#16

Re: Torque Needed By Auger Drill

03/14/2017 12:29 PM

The real question is, how much torque does it take for an auger drill to remove scales from a fish?

__________________
How we deal with death is at least as important as how we deal with life. --CAPTAIN KIRK, Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan
Register to Reply Score 1 for Good Answer
Guru

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Lubbock, Texas
Posts: 9326
Good Answers: 116
#18
In reply to #16

Re: Torque Needed By Auger Drill

03/14/2017 12:31 PM

once again....ROFLMAO are we growing corn with the fish scales now?

__________________
If it ain't broke, don't fix it. Just build a better one.
Register to Reply
Guru
Hobbies - HAM Radio - New Member United Kingdom - Big Ben - New Member Fans of Old Computers - Altair 8800 - New Member Canada - Member - New Member

Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3941
Good Answers: 118
#21

Re: Torque Needed By Auger Drill

03/14/2017 2:34 PM

OK, A gas powered auger will often take 2 people to restrain the torque - ever do a polka with a fat lady?

With regular earth/sandy ground it is not too bad, but with rocky ground of clay it can grab if you push too hard and easily throw you to the ground. They usually have a dead man switch, but it is often slow.

I drilled hundreds of 6 foot holes for concreted poles with satellite dishes on top (polar mount). With experience they are fine.

__________________
Per Ardua Ad Astra
Register to Reply
Guru

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Lubbock, Texas
Posts: 9326
Good Answers: 116
#22
In reply to #21

Re: Torque Needed By Auger Drill

03/14/2017 3:46 PM

Wow you Cannuck boys always have the good power tools.

I had to dig all my satellite pole holes by hand, using post hole diggers.

__________________
If it ain't broke, don't fix it. Just build a better one.
Register to Reply
Guru

Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1273
Good Answers: 19
#24

Re: Torque Needed By Auger Drill

03/15/2017 6:49 AM

Hi Siva, how are you? Nice to see you are still around. When pole planting you know it depends if you have tiger teeth on the auger and if you are using a lifter/borer or a dedicated auger machine. If you are still trying to do this by hand, the torque is not an issue, it is man power that is the issue.

Register to Reply
Active Contributor

Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 10
#25

Re: Torque Needed By Auger Drill

03/15/2017 7:55 AM

Like some others stated, more information is needed for your project requirements. One of the "augers" we built here provides torque maximum 17900 kNm @ 3 rpm with a hole diameter 8930mm.

I ran one of those gasoline powered fence post hole augers once which had about 60 Nm rating but enough to hurt the operator when it hit a tree root. Perhaps that is more in the range you are looking for.

Register to Reply Score 1 for Good Answer
Guru

Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Hemet, Land of milk and honey.
Posts: 938
Good Answers: 20
#26

Re: Torque Needed By Auger Drill

03/15/2017 8:55 PM

I remember hearing the answer on this one somewhere, but it was like the Limerick about the wood chuck chucking.

Register to Reply Score 1 for Good Answer
Guru

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Lubbock, Texas
Posts: 9326
Good Answers: 116
#27
In reply to #26

Re: Torque Needed By Auger Drill

03/16/2017 9:36 AM

Here's one for you all:

We know it takes four Texas Aggies to screw in a light bulb (even if it is an LED bulb).

One to hold the light bulb, two to rotate the ladder, and another one to supervise, and call 911.

How many Aggies does it take to run a ground auger drill? Answer will be forthcoming after we have a sufficient number of guesses, but it is an integer, we shall see if it is a prime number.

Another Aggies story: Barbed wire fence building competition between the Texas Tech Red Raiders, the Texas Longhorns, and the Texas A&M Aggies.

Longhorns went first, and set a new record within 1 cm length with correct tension, although a bit out of tune for a five strand fence, although it was bull stout. The Red Raiders went next, and beat the Longhorns, producing a middle C tuned six strand fence of precisely the correct length (they cheated and used consults with one of the engineering departments at Tech). This fence was horse high, bull stout, and pig tight.

The Aggies got up last, but they had a plan: They also made a six strand fence, properly tuned, horse high, bull stout, and pig tight, but when they arrived at the correct length, they had dirt left over from the last pole, so they dug another post hole. After they stretched one more section, they saw they still had dirt left over, so they did another, which led to another, and so on....upon last sighting, the Aggies were seen stretching fence northeast out of Texarkana into Arkansas...

__________________
If it ain't broke, don't fix it. Just build a better one.
Register to Reply
Guru

Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1273
Good Answers: 19
#28
In reply to #27

Re: Torque Needed By Auger Drill

03/16/2017 10:46 AM

That's a bit daft. They could have put the dirt in their pockets and walk away with an earthly win.

I was in the last Olympics and doing well too for Gold.

A roll of barbed wire over my shoulder. Irish fencing team!

Register to Reply
Guru

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Lubbock, Texas
Posts: 9326
Good Answers: 116
#29
In reply to #28

Re: Torque Needed By Auger Drill

03/16/2017 11:05 AM

ROFLMAO! Surely you joust in jest? Quilliards? Really?

__________________
If it ain't broke, don't fix it. Just build a better one.
Register to Reply
Guru

Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1273
Good Answers: 19
#30
In reply to #29

Re: Torque Needed By Auger Drill

03/16/2017 11:34 AM

I am laughing, thank you, I needed that. I made coffee and opened the fridge, (I don't have a refrigerator yet), and sure enough there was no F in milk. I need to go buy some.

And seriously there actually is a Q in billiards, and pool and snooker.

Register to Reply Off Topic (Score 5)
Guru

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Lubbock, Texas
Posts: 9326
Good Answers: 116
#31
In reply to #30

Re: Torque Needed By Auger Drill

03/16/2017 11:53 AM

must be silent. I have never witnessed a Queue here in the states for billiards, pool, or snooker, at least not one extending out the hall and down the thoroughfare.

__________________
If it ain't broke, don't fix it. Just build a better one.
Register to Reply Off Topic (Score 5)
Guru

Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1273
Good Answers: 19
#32
In reply to #27

Re: Torque Needed By Auger Drill

03/16/2017 12:50 PM

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1Z1lzbVnVx0

The answer is 13 + a plank+ a plastic sheet + a bucket of water for a runaway concrete skimmer. (Proof provided here).

For an auger, I need to complete a complicated mathematical progression and probability study based an an assumption due to incomplete data posted by this OP, and allow for the full daily rotation of the earth and assume that the OP is in the northern hemisphere and at a point where the said auger is furthest from the gravitational pull of the earths core, and the soil conditions are that of surface conditions found on earth.

I scientifically calculate 5. An Optimus Prime No and an integer. It has no point and fractionally speaking, it is whole.

Will the auger penetrate the earths crust or will that be cut off prior to augering?

Calculated on a hole with a given dimension and a certain depth which will be backfilled with un-compacted space with darkness at the bottom. This definitive calc was completed with the aid of Apple Pi and a spoon.

QED.

Register to Reply Off Topic (Score 4)
Guru

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Lubbock, Texas
Posts: 9326
Good Answers: 116
#33
In reply to #32

Re: Torque Needed By Auger Drill

03/16/2017 1:40 PM

In the case of Aggies operating an earth auger, yes the answer is an integer, and yes a hole number, and yes a prime number - 1. That is the number of Aggies that will fit atop a spinning ground auger. Also, this is a two-state digital system: either the Aggie is still atop the spinning ground auger, or he is not, and has been flung to the side. The circuit is also a one-shot type relay. Once he shoots off, he ain't coming back for more.

OMG - I split my sides laughing at the concrete crew gathering up around the runaway skimmer.

__________________
If it ain't broke, don't fix it. Just build a better one.
Register to Reply Off Topic (Score 5)
Guru

Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1273
Good Answers: 19
#34
In reply to #33

Re: Torque Needed By Auger Drill

03/16/2017 2:03 PM

Ah, my mistake, I did not allow for a 2 stage digital system. I based it on gung-ho analogue warp divider.

Nice to have a banter, cheers for that.

Register to Reply Off Topic (Score 5)
Register to Reply 34 comments
Interested in this topic? By joining CR4 you can "subscribe" to
this discussion and receive notification when new comments are added.

Comments rated to be Good Answers:

These comments received enough positive ratings to make them "good answers".

Comments rated to be "almost" Good Answers:

Check out these comments that don't yet have enough votes to be "official" good answers and, if you agree with them, rate them!
Copy to Clipboard

Users who posted comments:

Anonymous Poster (1); aurizon (1); Brave Sir Robin (1); gutmonarch (1); IQ (5); James Stewart (11); JPool (1); Mike W (1); PWSlack (2); redfred (1); ronc (1); Rotag (1); tcmtech (5); tonyhemet (1); Tornado (1)

Previous in Forum: Fish Descaling  

Advertisement