CR4 - The Engineer's Place for News and Discussion ®
Login | Register for Engineering Community (CR4)


Previous in Forum: Magnetic Balance Test on Transformer   Next in Forum: How To Interpret TAN DELTA Test Result In A Rotating Machine
Close
Close
Close
10 comments
Anonymous Poster #1

Transformer 1 Phase to 3 Phase

03/15/2017 2:00 AM

Is It Possible to make Transfomer which can convert single phase supply to Three Phase supply I mean to say 1Phase 230 VAC to 3 Phase 440VAC.

Kindly help me out???

Reply
Interested in this topic? By joining CR4 you can "subscribe" to
this discussion and receive notification when new comments are added.

Comments rated to be Good Answers:

These comments received enough positive ratings to make them "good answers".

Comments rated to be "almost" Good Answers:

Check out these comments that don't yet have enough votes to be "official" good answers and, if you agree with them, rate them!
4
Guru

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: at the beach in Florida
Posts: 16895
Good Answers: 963
#1

Re: Transformer 1 Phase to 3 Phase

03/15/2017 2:53 AM
__________________
Life is like riding a bicycle. To keep your balance you must keep moving. A.E.
Reply Good Answer (Score 4)
Guru

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: at the beach in Florida
Posts: 16895
Good Answers: 963
#3
In reply to #1

Re: Transformer 1 Phase to 3 Phase

03/15/2017 3:18 AM
__________________
Life is like riding a bicycle. To keep your balance you must keep moving. A.E.
Reply
Participant

Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 1
#2

Re: Transformer 1 Phase to 3 Phase

03/15/2017 3:14 AM

You can use the Rotatory phase.

Reply
Guru

Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hyderabad, India
Posts: 596
Good Answers: 12
#4

Re: Transformer 1 Phase to 3 Phase

03/15/2017 4:37 AM

A transformer can not convert single phase to three phase. You can do like this: https://www.electricneutron.com/electric-motor/use-three-phase-motor-single-phase-power-supply/

__________________
Subramanyam
Reply Score 1 for Good Answer
2
Guru
United Kingdom - Member - Indeterminate Engineering Fields - Control Engineering - New Member

Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: In the bothy, 7 chains down the line from Dodman's Lane level crossing, in the nation formerly known as Great Britain, and now disconnecting as Little England and Wales (not too sure about Wales bit, either). Kettle's on.
Posts: 25644
Good Answers: 673
#5

Re: Transformer 1 Phase to 3 Phase

03/15/2017 4:46 AM

It is easily possible to find equipment that will do this. However, such a thing is not called a <...transformer...>.

__________________
"Did you get my e-mail?" - "The biggest problem in communication is the illusion that it has taken place" - George Bernard Shaw, 1856
Reply Good Answer (Score 2)
Guru
United States - Member - New Member Engineering Fields - Power Engineering - New Member

Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: California, USA, where the Godless live next door to God.
Posts: 4294
Good Answers: 698
#6

Re: Transformer 1 Phase to 3 Phase

03/15/2017 9:06 PM

Actually, there IS a "transformer method phase converter" out there. It used to be described in detail, now the chief proponent of it sells a book on Amazon. He has this YouTube channel where he shows them, but no details.

https://www.youtube.com/user/unique3phase/videos

Back about 6 or 7 years ago when he used to put the details on the web, I looked at it and although it's very complicated, it does apparently work. The way he put it back then is that the concept came out in the 40s, but was lost because nobody was that interested in running 3 phase motors at home. Now because nobody actually makes the transformer, his thing is showing you how to make your own, using a commercially available 3 phase transformer and getting into the windings to modify it to accept single phase (and adding capacitors), something that is beyond the skill set of most people. When I looked into it back then, I came to the conclusion that unless you can buy a transformer at scrap value, the economics of this didn't make much sense compared to more conventional methods. He also provided no data on throughput efficiency.

__________________
** All I every really wanted to be, was... A LUMBERJACK!.**
Reply Score 1 for Good Answer
Associate

Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Madrid, SPAIN
Posts: 42
Good Answers: 3
#7

Re: Transformer 1 Phase to 3 Phase

03/16/2017 2:22 AM

Depending on the application, a switching converter might be a better solution, in terms of price and versatility.

However, you probably need it for 3ph fan control. In this case, since you do not want pricy extra equipment, you can either run it with single phase, buy a single phase motor, or just use the 3 phases.

__________________
Building the future...
Reply Score 1 for Good Answer
Power-User

Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 309
Good Answers: 13
#8

Re: Transformer 1 Phase to 3 Phase

03/16/2017 3:25 AM

Look up Scott transformer

Reply
Guru
Popular Science - Weaponology - New Member Safety - ESD - New Member Hobbies - Fishing - New Member

Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Near Frankfurt am Main, Germany. 50.390866N, 8.884827E
Posts: 17751
Good Answers: 194
#9

Re: Transformer 1 Phase to 3 Phase

03/16/2017 12:58 PM

Do you know how "much" 3 Phase AC power you need? and how "much" single phase AC power you have to play with....?

My understanding is that a small VFD basically can do just that, with a variable voltage output as an optionalal extra!!!

See here for example:-

5hp-vfd

You will probably need a small 3 phase transformer to boost the output to the required voltage 440(?)....or 3 single phase transformers....if the output is not high enough....that is!!!

Just a thought!

__________________
"What others say about you reveals more about them, than it does you." Anon.
Reply
Participant

Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Greater Memphis, Tn. Metro
Posts: 3
#10

Re: Transformer 1 Phase to 3 Phase

03/17/2017 10:53 AM

https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=6&cad=rja&uact=8&ved=0ahUKEwiIgJio4t3SAhXLgVQKHWbtBkMQFghdMAU&url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.yaskawa.com%2Fproducts%2Fdrives%2Fspecialty-pump-drives%2Fdrives%2Fiqpump1000&usg=AFQjCNEBChU5pDMFEMM9fCg-_WctgBNzcg&sig2=Njo-91w7Gkof9gsingle phase input to three phase motorm0l7K_Kw&bvm=bv.149760088,d.amc

When using a single phase input to a VFD you will get the same voltage out in 3 phase. IE. 230vac single phase in you will get the same 230 vac out but 3 phase but you will also need to oversize the drive by double the required amperage to compensate. That is a general rule of thumb that we use.

__________________
Dave Oliver
Reply
Reply to Forum Thread 10 comments
Interested in this topic? By joining CR4 you can "subscribe" to
this discussion and receive notification when new comments are added.

Comments rated to be Good Answers:

These comments received enough positive ratings to make them "good answers".

Comments rated to be "almost" Good Answers:

Check out these comments that don't yet have enough votes to be "official" good answers and, if you agree with them, rate them!
Copy to Clipboard

Users who posted comments:

Andy Germany (1); daveoliver (1); Ivanov327950 (1); JRaef (1); kumarpradeep (1); kvsubramanyam (1); Phaddy (1); PWSlack (1); SolarEagle (2)

Previous in Forum: Magnetic Balance Test on Transformer   Next in Forum: How To Interpret TAN DELTA Test Result In A Rotating Machine

Advertisement