CR4 - The Engineer's Place for News and Discussion ®

Previous in Forum: Crop Circles in the Sea?   Next in Forum: Powder Coating Galvanized
Close
Close
Close
35 comments
Participant

Compensating For An Undersized Generator

04/13/2017 1:39 PM

Hi all,

I have for a few months now been looking into a problem for customer of mine that is a property manager at a large remote vacation townhome complex of about 50 homes. The problem he came to me with was the capacitors on the motors attached to the vertical sewage pumps were blowing while trying start under generator power. I am a generator technician and have some familiarity with pumps and systems but not any in depth knowledge of their controls or options. Now the generator is a 17kw single phase, 60hz, air cooled, Generac generator with an output amperage of 141.7/70.8amps. The motors, which are not used together, one is a backup are 5 hp, 1750rpm, 230volt one FLA is 20.1 the other is 23. I know a couple things (or so I think) right off the bat. 1.) The generator is undersized and should be at least a 25kw which would solve this whole problem BUT.....my customer has upsized this generator once already per the guidance of the electrical contractor he was previously using and at all costs does not want to go back to the Homeowners Association for second time and tell them that the generator the have spent a lot of money on is to small. 2.) The capaciors are blowing because they are on to long and over heating due to them starving for power to perform while the heavily loaded generator comes up to proper outputs.

Now my questions.......

1.) Can the motors be changed to motors that dont use capacitors

or

2.) Is there a way to(i have only heard of this) double or triple up the capacitors being used on each motor.

or

3.) Is there a devise that is more or less opposite of a soft start like a "hard start"