CR4® - The Engineer's Place for News and Discussion®

Previous in Forum: Centrifugal Pump Health Check   Next in Forum: CR Paint Vs Epoxy Paint
Close
Close
Close
17 comments

Is the Volume at the Bottom Dead Center the Same as Displacement Volume?

04/15/2017 3:47 PM

Hi, I'm a new mechanical engineering student in the forum, at the moment I'm studying about the Otto cycle from Thermodynamics from Cengel, 8th edition.

I found a an exercise that has been driving me mad, Exercise 9-2 (1st and 2nd images)

As you can see, they give me a certain total displacement volume, and if we find throughout the exercise the specifics volumes at the TDC and BTC, their difference will be that total displaced volume in terms of mass.

And if we divided the total displacement volume by the difference between the specifics volumes, we should find the total MASS of the content inside the cylinder. In the exercise the don't do that, they divide the total displacement volume only by the specific volume at the BDC, ignoring specific volume at the TDC.

¿Why?

Register to Reply
Interested in this topic? By joining CR4 you can "subscribe" to
this discussion and receive notification when new comments are added.

Comments rated to be "almost" Good Answers:

Check out these comments that don't yet have enough votes to be "official" good answers and, if you agree with them, rate them!
Guru

Good Answers: 587

Re: Is the volume at the Bottom Dead Center the same as Displacement volume?

04/15/2017 3:57 PM

No, the displacement volume is the difference between the volume at bottom dead center and top dead center.

Register to Reply
Guru

In reply to #1

04/15/2017 4:21 PM

The compression ratio is the ratio of the Top Dead Center volume and Bottom Dead Center volume. In gasoline engines, it can be as high as 10.5:1. Diesel engines may have a compression ratio over 22:1. So the Bottom Dead Center volume is a fair to good approximation of the displacement volume.