CR4 - The Engineer's Place for News and Discussion ®


Previous in Forum: Why My Speed Is Very Very Slow   Next in Forum: Where Are The Mods Today?
Close
Close
Close
10 comments
Guru

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Where the sun sets on OZ
Posts: 1314
Good Answers: 27

Editor Has Gone Again. In Firefox

04/15/2017 8:56 PM

For long time my editor window ( for posting replies ) had no toolbar. A couple of months ago it came back. I also could use the green plus sign to expand off topic posts. As of a couple of weeks ago i again have no toolbar and the green plus sign doesn't work. I have to open the post in another window to see it/them. This sentence is the start of a new paragraph but when i submit it will just run on from the last sentence. Another new para. Firefox doesn't 'like' me logging in. It says this site is unsafe as my password can be easily stolen. New para/line Jim.

__________________
Where's the KaBoom? There should be a KaBoom!
Register to Reply
Interested in this topic? By joining CR4 you can "subscribe" to
this discussion and receive notification when new comments are added.
Guru
Technical Fields - Technical Writing - New Member Engineering Fields - Piping Design Engineering - New Member

Join Date: May 2009
Location: Richland, WA, USA
Posts: 19818
Good Answers: 741
#1

Re: Editor has gone again. In Firefox

04/15/2017 9:12 PM

It still works fine on my Firefox, but I have always declined the big-orange-screen update offers.

__________________
In vino veritas; in cervisia carmen; in aqua E. coli.
Register to Reply
Guru

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Where the sun sets on OZ
Posts: 1314
Good Answers: 27
#2
In reply to #1

Re: Editor has gone again. In Firefox

04/15/2017 9:45 PM

That is strange. I don't get the big orange thing. Maybe i elected to update automatically. I also use a program called Disconnect. It stops third parties from dropping in on our conversation. I also use Firefox's Lightbeam which shows a visualisation of all the other sites trying to connect to me. googleapis, googleadplus, hatredmotorcyclists, for some. It also affords tracking protection. I had presumed that some of sites i blocked (via Lightbeam ) had stopped my editor etc. from working but then just out of blue it started working again. Right up to the time it stopped. ;-] ( I once bought a B&S motor that had worked right up until the time it stopped; yes i got it going again. Just love the irony. ) That is the conundrum. Jim

__________________
Where's the KaBoom? There should be a KaBoom!
Register to Reply
Guru

Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 2914
Good Answers: 115
#5
In reply to #2

Re: Editor has gone again. In Firefox

04/16/2017 8:56 AM

Possibly one or more plugins is interfering with things?

Register to Reply
Guru

Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 2914
Good Answers: 115
#3

Re: Editor has gone again. In Firefox

04/15/2017 10:08 PM

"Firefox doesn't 'like' me logging in. It says this site is unsafe as my password can be easily stolen."

It get similar warnings and I use Chrome. I get a warning on the login page...

... as well this on their emailed 'new-comment' notices ...

All my emails from other sources are encrypted, but not from GlobalSpec. They are the sole exception.

Register to Reply
Guru
United Kingdom - Member - Not a New Member Hobbies - Musician - New Member Hobbies - Fishing - New Member

Join Date: May 2006
Location: Reading, Berkshire, UK. Going under cover.
Posts: 9480
Good Answers: 447
#4

Re: Editor has gone again. In Firefox

04/16/2017 6:39 AM

Mine works fine.

Firefox auto-updates. Win 7.

__________________
"Love justice, you who rule the world" - Dante Alighieri
Register to Reply
Guru

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Where the sun sets on OZ
Posts: 1314
Good Answers: 27
#6
In reply to #4

Re: Editor has gone again. In Firefox

04/16/2017 7:16 PM

This is screenshot. I am now in Chrome. I stopped using Chrome because i was getting a lot of ads and even malware. I could, of course, just use Chrome but it is odd that i had full function for a short while. You can see in the screenshot that there is no toolbar and the text is on two lines, It goes to all one line in the post. Do you know if the formatting is third party software? I could then search Disconnect and Lightbeam to see if that third party site is blocked and whitelist it.

Thanks,

Jim

__________________
Where's the KaBoom? There should be a KaBoom!
Register to Reply
Guru
United Kingdom - Member - Not a New Member Hobbies - Musician - New Member Hobbies - Fishing - New Member

Join Date: May 2006
Location: Reading, Berkshire, UK. Going under cover.
Posts: 9480
Good Answers: 447
#8
In reply to #6

Re: Editor has gone again. In Firefox

04/16/2017 9:33 PM

AFAIK all the formatting is done by an editor which is part of the CR4 system stuff - but I'm just any old member. Maybe it's time to drag in some help from Admin., and hope that either they know or can find someone who knows.

__________________
"Love justice, you who rule the world" - Dante Alighieri
Register to Reply
Guru

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Where the sun sets on OZ
Posts: 1314
Good Answers: 27
#7
In reply to #4

Re: Editor has gone again. In Firefox

04/16/2017 7:17 PM

Maybe something to do with Win 8.1. screenshot posted using Chrome.

__________________
Where's the KaBoom? There should be a KaBoom!
Register to Reply
Guru
Popular Science - Weaponology - New Member Safety - ESD - New Member Hobbies - Fishing - New Member

Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Near Frankfurt am Main, Germany. 50.390866N, 8.884827E
Posts: 17920
Good Answers: 196
#9

Re: Editor has gone again. In Firefox

04/17/2017 4:29 AM

I was a very long time user of Firefox, but it was not kept updated for Linux when I was on a Linux "tick"! So I used Chrome, no problems.

I fairly recently went back to Windows (10) and I stayed with Chrome for daily usage, I have Firefox installed, but it is simply not as user friendly as Chrome now is and only there for occasional usage, like months apart.....

I hope this helps.

__________________
"What others say about you reveals more about them, than it does you." Anon.
Register to Reply
Guru

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Where the sun sets on OZ
Posts: 1314
Good Answers: 27
#10
In reply to #9

Re: Editor has gone again. In Firefox

04/17/2017 8:28 PM

Yes, my recent, brief, use of Chrome was trouble free. No ads, no new windows opening, no malware. All that cr4p that Lyn was also complaining about ( where is he? ). So i may just switch to that browser.

__________________
Where's the KaBoom? There should be a KaBoom!
Register to Reply
Register to Reply 10 comments
Interested in this topic? By joining CR4 you can "subscribe" to
this discussion and receive notification when new comments are added.
Copy to Clipboard

Users who posted comments:

Andrew Westman (2); Andy Germany (1); JIMRAT (4); JohnDG (2); Tornado (1)

Previous in Forum: Why My Speed Is Very Very Slow   Next in Forum: Where Are The Mods Today?

Advertisement