Close
Close
Close
11 comments
Anonymous Poster #1

Energy Engineering Vs. Chemical Engineering in 2017

05/11/2017 4:17 AM

Greetings,

I am an undergraduate student transferring out of community college. I have been accepted to UC San Diego - major: Chemical Engineering (abet accredited) and UC Berkeley- major: Engineering Science; Energy Engineering (Non-abet accredited). I am trying to pick between these two schools. Both programs are challenging. The chem e program allows you to take electives in an area of concentration: nano, bio eng, or materials. The energy program however would have me taking electrical, mechanical, some civil, and CS, and you get a lot more freedom to chose the classes and electives. It is very interdisciplinary, and requires you work on an original project senior year. It has structure, but the major would not fit into any traditional engineering major.

My concerns are being able to get a job post graduation. I am interested in research, but I also want to have options and not be limited to industry or academia. Would either of these degrees create any constraints? I find them both very interesting. Seeking advice from professionals and academics. Thank you.

Interested in this topic? By joining CR4 you can "subscribe" to
this discussion and receive notification when new comments are added.
Guru
United Kingdom - Member - Indeterminate Engineering Fields - Control Engineering - New Member

Location: In the bothy, 7 chains down the line from Dodman's Lane level crossing, in the nation formerly known as Great Britain, and now disconnecting as Little England and Wales (not too sure about Wales bit, either). Kettle's on.
Good Answers: 683

Re: Energy Engineering vs Chemical Engineering in 2017

05/11/2017 5:07 AM

A job exists because the potential employer has a serious business problem to solve. An interview takes place when a potential employer sees something in the application that says the candidate is worth interviewing.