CR4® - The Engineer's Place for News and Discussion®

Previous in Forum: Walabot 3D Imaging Sensor   Next in Forum: Sprockets Collaborated with Compound Gears Train
Close
Close
Close
67 comments

Expert Advice Needed

06/07/2017 12:08 PM

Hi Everyone, First of all, I have zero knowledge in engineering. However I would like to make a standard rocking chair to rock automatically. Can someone please give me some expert advice on how to do this, what materials will be needed, any reference or videos that I can read and watch to learn the basics? Thanks. Q

Register to Reply
Interested in this topic? By joining CR4 you can "subscribe" to
this discussion and receive notification when new comments are added.

Comments rated to be Good Answers:

These comments received enough positive ratings to make them "good answers".

Comments rated to be "almost" Good Answers:

Check out these comments that don't yet have enough votes to be "official" good answers and, if you agree with them, rate them!
Guru

Good Answers: 1141

Re: Expert Advice Needed

06/07/2017 12:22 PM

Well you need to design it first....choose a design or look that you want...

click here...

In reply to #1

06/07/2017 12:50 PM

In reply to #6

06/07/2017 2:50 PM

thanks for the video. It's really helpful.

Register to Reply
Guru

Good Answers: 36
In reply to #6

06/09/2017 6:39 AM

I like it ....but possibly the option of adding weights to the arm to accommodate a range of people.....and speed adjustment to find the natural frequency...

United Kingdom - Member - Not a New Member Hobbies - Musician - New Member Hobbies - Fishing - New Member

Good Answers: 457
In reply to #38

06/09/2017 7:48 AM

" ... but possibly the option of adding weights to the arm to accommodate a range of people.....and speed adjustment to find the natural frequency..." agreed - probably also need a more powerful motor and a longer arm for the counterweight.