CR4 - The Engineer's Place for News and Discussion ®

Previous in Forum: Degree of Freedom During Phase Change   Next in Forum: Coal GCV
Close
Close
Close
9 comments
Active Contributor

Modulus of [Elasticity|Rigidity] and Shear Modulus

09/04/2017 11:16 AM

There's this material: JIS S45C Steel, Tempered over on matweb that I am trying to make sure that the terms are properly aligned with what I am studying.

Mechanical Properties

MetricEnglishComments
Hardness, Brinell201 - 269201 - 269
Hardness, Rockwell C13.8 - 27.613.8 - 27.6
Tensile Strength, Ultimate686 MPa99600 psi
Tensile Strength, Yield490 MPa71100 psi
Elongation at Break17 %17 %
Reduction of Area45 %45 %
Modulus of Elasticity205 GPa29700 ksiTypical steel
Poissons Ratio0.290.29Typical steel
Machinability55 %55 %Based on AISI 1212 steel as 100% machinability
Shear Modulus80.0 GPa11600 ksiTypical steel
Impact8.08.0kg(f)/cm²

Sometimes you'll see a capital G as the modulus of rigidity; is that the same thing as modulus of elasticity? This wikipedia page seems to say so but sometimes they are used differently;

Also shear stress, sometimes written as Fs; is that the same thing as shear modulus? This wikipedia page, seems to refer to shear stress as relating to modulus of rigidity or G from the previous example

Calculating the diameter of a solid shaft based on strength criteria the formula is:

T/J = Fs/R

or based on rigidity criteria the formula is

T/J = G*theta/L

I am uncertain based on the material properties up above if "Fs" == shear modulus == 80GPa and if G == modulus of elasticity == 205GPa.

Is modulus of elasticity the same as modulus of rigidity?

Is shear modulus the same thing as shear stress?

Register to Reply
Interested in this topic? By joining CR4 you can "subscribe" to
this discussion and receive notification when new comments are added.

Comments rated to be Good Answers:

These comments received enough positive ratings to make them "good answers".