CR4® - The Engineer's Place for News and Discussion®


Previous in Forum: Bare Neutral in 15kV Switchgear "Utility Application"   Next in Forum: What is the Importance of CT Polarity in HV Substations and How is it Decided?
Close
Close
Close
3 comments
Member

Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 7

Braking Unit

09/20/2017 7:22 AM

we having a drive, motor & braking unit(juv phv 0060 )2 no & resistor unit 2 no.

Now one brake unit is defective & disconnected.

Another brake unit (juv phv 0040 ) is there of different capacity. can we connect it in place of that as slave And the original one (juv phv 0060 ) as master.

please suggest me how the load will be distributed or any additional information required.

DRIVE:

TECO SPEECON 7200MA SENSORLESS VECTOR.

JNTMBGBA0075AZ-U

AC 3 PHASE 380-460 V, 50 HZ.

AC 3 PHASE 0-460 V, 110KVA, 128 AMP.

MOTOR:

AC 3 PHASE INDUCTION MOTOR.

TECO MAKE.

TYPE : AEEF, 8 POLES.

OUTPUT 60 HP, 45 KW, 50HZ.

720 RPM, F INSULATION,

220, 440 V

168, 84 AMP

ROTOR K2, IP64, RATING: CONT,

FRAME 250MC.

Brake unit

JUVPHV 0060, 440 V CLASS (Teco electric)

Register to Reply
Interested in this topic? By joining CR4 you can "subscribe" to
this discussion and receive notification when new comments are added.
Guru
United Kingdom - Member - Indeterminate Engineering Fields - Control Engineering - New Member

Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: In the bothy, 7 chains down the line from Dodman's Lane level crossing, in the nation formerly known as Great Britain, and now disconnecting as Little England and Wales (not too sure about Wales bit, either). Kettle's on.
Posts: 26689
Good Answers: 700
#1

Re: Braking unit

09/20/2017 8:13 AM

What did the original equipment manufacturer say during the phone calls on this topic?

Please also explain why the original thread, http://cr4.globalspec.com/thread/114902, has been abandoned to the despair of some of the respondents?

__________________
"Did you get my e-mail?" - "The biggest problem in communication is the illusion that it has taken place" - George Bernard Shaw, 1856
Register to Reply Score 1 for Off Topic
Guru
United States - Member - New Member Engineering Fields - Power Engineering - New Member

Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: California, USA, where the Godless live next door to God.
Posts: 4408
Good Answers: 732
#2

Re: Braking Unit

09/20/2017 7:30 PM

I would say that a larger braking UNIT can be used, but the RESISTOR must be the same. The braking UNIT is sized for the current that will be going into the resistor, over sizing the unit simply increases its capacity (or decreases the thermal stress on it). But the braking RESISTOR is related to the ohmic value required to function. If you have a resistor that has a lower or higher ohmic value than another one in the same system, you will cause the load to shift one way or the other.

__________________
** All I every really wanted to be, was... A LUMBERJACK!.**
Register to Reply
Member

Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 7
#3
In reply to #2

Re: Braking Unit

09/21/2017 5:36 AM

Thanks for the reply

Register to Reply
Register to Reply 3 comments
Interested in this topic? By joining CR4 you can "subscribe" to
this discussion and receive notification when new comments are added.
Copy to Clipboard

Users who posted comments:

JRaef (1); PWSlack (1); TSR (1)

Previous in Forum: Bare Neutral in 15kV Switchgear "Utility Application"   Next in Forum: What is the Importance of CT Polarity in HV Substations and How is it Decided?

Advertisement