CR4® - The Engineer's Place for News and Discussion®


Previous in Forum: Weighing Scale Accuracy Class   Next in Forum: Analog Signal Wiring to PLC
Close
Close
Close
15 comments
Member

Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 7

Endress Hause FMD71

10/04/2017 10:18 PM

Hi All,

I have a newly installed FMD71 electronic DP transmiiter where upon power-up, the display shows "sensror assignment" and the ouptut locks at 22mA.

I tried to search from the EH operation manual but could not find any solution. We already tried to set-up and configure the transmitter but still it shows the same.

Anybody please help if you have encountered this problem and solutions if any.

Thank you so much

Register to Reply
Interested in this topic? By joining CR4 you can "subscribe" to
this discussion and receive notification when new comments are added.

Comments rated to be Good Answers:

These comments received enough positive ratings to make them "good answers".

Comments rated to be "almost" Good Answers:

Check out these comments that don't yet have enough votes to be "official" good answers and, if you agree with them, rate them!
Guru

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: at the beach in Florida
Posts: 19490
Good Answers: 1141
#1

Re: Endress Hause FMD71

10/04/2017 10:39 PM

Are your function buttons working? Do you have programming software?

https://portal.endress.com/wa001/dla/5000524/7248/000/02/TI01033PEN_0312.pdf

__________________
Life is like riding a bicycle. To keep your balance you must keep moving. A.E.
Register to Reply
Member

Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 7
#2
In reply to #1

Re: Endress Hause FMD71

10/05/2017 12:10 AM

Dear SolarEagle,

Thanks for your immediate reply.

Yes all the function buttons are working. I don't have a programming device except for the HART communicator. All wiring connections have been check. We have 2 units of this FMD71 and almost the same :

"Sensor Assignment" appears to both transmitters.

Register to Reply
Commentator
Venezuela - Member - New Member

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Venezuela
Posts: 91
Good Answers: 6
#4
In reply to #2

Re: Endress Hause FMD71

10/05/2017 7:31 AM

I agree totally with Pwslack get on a phone call with E&H technical support....

Just I suppose that this new equipment need to know who is the Hi and Low sensor.....Something similar to the Rosemount ERS...I guess that means sensor assignment

Regards

JP

__________________
Instruments-guy-SAV
Register to Reply
Guru
Safety - Hazmat - New Member United States - US - Statue of Liberty - New Member Engineering Fields - Chemical Engineering - Old Hand

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Lubbock, Texas
Posts: 13899
Good Answers: 155
#5
In reply to #2

Re: Endress Hause FMD71

10/05/2017 12:11 PM

What did your sales rep tell you when you hit them up with this issue?

__________________
If it ain't broke, don't fix it. Just build a better one.
Register to Reply
Guru
United Kingdom - Member - Indeterminate Engineering Fields - Control Engineering - New Member

Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: In the bothy, 7 chains down the line from Dodman's Lane level crossing, in the nation formerly known as Great Britain, and now disconnecting ["brexit" - ugh] as Little England and Wales (not too sure about Wales bit, either). Kettle's on.
Posts: 26794
Good Answers: 703
#3

Re: Endress Hause FMD71

10/05/2017 6:28 AM

Get on the telephone to Endress + Hauser. Being a world-class company, personal experience indicates that the technical support on this channel is world-class too.

__________________
"Did you get my e-mail?" - "The biggest problem in communication is the illusion that it has taken place" - George Bernard Shaw, 1856
Register to Reply
Member

Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 7
#6

Re: Endress Hause FMD71

10/05/2017 10:56 PM

Hi All,

Thank you all for your advise. Perhaps I need the expertise of the EH technical people.

Much appreciated...

Register to Reply
Participant

Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1
#7

Re: Endress Hause FMD71

10/06/2017 3:23 AM

Hello all,

This value is called 'saturated value' in most HART Transmiters. So: Isolate transmiter, equalize and purge completely the two ports. Connect communicator in serial with a multimiter. Read the milliamps. If you have any value than 22 mA, thus this ils the true zero. Trim transmiter output if you haven't 4mA. Otherwise check all pneumatic and electrical connections, Aldo the two gauges. Otherwise normally change Transmiter.

Register to Reply
Power-User

Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 375
Good Answers: 20
#8

Re: Endress Hause FMD71

10/06/2017 10:31 AM

Assignment sounds like it uses multidrop communications mode to communicate with the two pressure sensors you have. The two sensors create a differential pressure sensor, and it is looking for you to assign which sensor is the high leg and which sensor is the low leg, so your differential pressure reads as you want it to be.

If you switch the role of the two sensors, then your reading will show up negative, when in the normal sensing range, for instance.

Register to Reply
Guru
Safety - Hazmat - New Member United States - US - Statue of Liberty - New Member Engineering Fields - Chemical Engineering - Old Hand

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Lubbock, Texas
Posts: 13899
Good Answers: 155
#9
In reply to #8

Re: Endress Hause FMD71

10/06/2017 4:03 PM

Some DP XMTR have a single sensor, but one has to assign the high leg, and the low leg still.

__________________
If it ain't broke, don't fix it. Just build a better one.
Register to Reply
Guru

Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 651
Good Answers: 172
#10

Re: Endress Hause FMD71

10/06/2017 7:34 PM

There are 3 pages of error codes in the troubleshooting section starting on page 64 of the FMD71 Operating Instructions document.

https://portal.endress.com/wa001/dla/5000524/7255/000/04/BA01044PEN_0515.pdf

What error code does your transmitter display, besides the NAMUR offscale output signal?

Register to Reply
Member

Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 7
#11
In reply to #10

Re: Endress Hause FMD71

10/07/2017 1:56 AM

Hi Iris,

The code is F165-Sensor Assignment. "The assignment of the transmitter to sensor module. LP or HP is unknown (e.g. after changing the sensor module). See also "Replacing sensor modules".

This is a newly installed unit and no module sensor was replaced. 2 units having the same code.

Register to Reply
3
Guru

Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 651
Good Answers: 172
#12

Re: Endress Hause FMD71

10/07/2017 11:45 AM

Even though you haven't replaced a sensor, it sounds like you are still in the commissioning stage - it's new and it isn't working yet. If it were me, I'd be trying anything relates to sensor assignment, because your system does not see its sensors.

Unfortunately, the manuals suffer from typical Teutonic brevity - short and incomplete explanations.

Apparently each sensor has a master or slave designation.

And each sensor has a location designation, LP or HP.

I suspect that they are trying to say that the DC power must be cycled off then on in order for sensor changes to be recognized.

There's a path given for sensor assignment allocation:


Have you tried checking the settings at the end of that path to see if they make sense?

Register to Reply Good Answer (Score 3)
Member

Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 7
#13
In reply to #12

Re: Endress Hause FMD71

10/10/2017 3:55 AM

Hi Iris,

It was in the expert mode that we found out both sensors was "unknown" to the transmitter despite already connected. In there we have assigned the LP and the HP for the transmitter to be informed. Transmitter already operational.

Thank you so much for your tips and ideas shared and more power.

Register to Reply Score 1 for Good Answer
Guru

Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1244
Good Answers: 91
#15
In reply to #13

Re: Endress Hause FMD71

11/16/2017 12:20 PM

I think you owe Iris a "good answer" point, Enzo! I gave one. You have to use the "rate" button on Iris's post.

Register to Reply
Participant

Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 1
#14

Re: Endress Hause FMD71

10/10/2017 12:41 PM

Try to find the manual!

Register to Reply
Register to Reply 15 comments
Interested in this topic? By joining CR4 you can "subscribe" to
this discussion and receive notification when new comments are added.

Comments rated to be Good Answers:

These comments received enough positive ratings to make them "good answers".

Comments rated to be "almost" Good Answers:

Check out these comments that don't yet have enough votes to be "official" good answers and, if you agree with them, rate them!
Copy to Clipboard

Users who posted comments:

67model (1); enzo (4); gugace (1); Instruments-guy-SAV (1); Iris (2); James Stewart (2); mallem (1); PWSlack (1); rwilliams (1); SolarEagle (1)

Previous in Forum: Weighing Scale Accuracy Class   Next in Forum: Analog Signal Wiring to PLC

Advertisement