CR4® - The Engineer's Place for News and Discussion®

Previous in Forum: Google Glasses - What Went Wrong?   Next in Forum: Lithium Ion Car Battery
Close
Close
Close
9 comments
Participant

Rethinking Current Degree Course

11/01/2017 12:06 PM

I'm a first year mechanical student from South Africa. I find the course quite interesting but I feel I want to do more in the engineering field, such as programming and electronics. Mechanical engineering was personally my second choice because I initially wanted to do mechatronics as a full time degree to be a robotic engineer. However only two universities in my country offer it as a bachelors degree. So I'm wondering if I should continue mechanical or switch to another course at my current university or transfer to pursue mechatronics?

Register to Reply
Interested in this topic? By joining CR4 you can "subscribe" to
this discussion and receive notification when new comments are added.

Comments rated to be Good Answers:

These comments received enough positive ratings to make them "good answers".
Guru

Good Answers: 1586

Re: Rethinking Current Degree Course

11/01/2017 12:26 PM

Welcome to the real world of youth and college.

Many young students don't really know what they want to do in their lives. That's normal.

Talk to friends, college counselors and adults whom you know and trust.

Continue on the path that you most want to pursue right now. In the mean time research the net, join other forums in the fields you want to pursue. Robotics, math mechanical engineering forums are all over the net. Do some research.

You will have to make these decisions all through life.

Many people pursue fields other than the ones they have degrees in and are very happy.

Good luck.

Register to Reply Good Answer (Score 3)
Guru