CR4® - The Engineer's Place for News and Discussion®


Previous in Forum: Control Stepper Motor with vhdl   Next in Forum: 6.6kV Vacuum Contactor (Latched) Opening Time
Close
Close
Close
8 comments
Active Contributor

Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 21

Loading Up Power to A Vault

11/01/2017 11:41 PM

We have 3 phase power vault 3 x 666 KVA transformers at 600 Volts this feeds a 2000 amp 3 phase panel at 600 Volts.

What is the maximum number of amps can we load the electrical panel up to ?

Currently we are drawing around 1000 amps at 600 volts when all of our equipment is running. How many spare amps to we have without upgrading the transformers in the vault ?

Register to Reply
Pathfinder Tags: amps overload power vault volts
Interested in this topic? By joining CR4 you can "subscribe" to
this discussion and receive notification when new comments are added.
Guru

Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 39916
Good Answers: 1589
#1

Re: Loading Up Power to A Vault

11/02/2017 12:53 AM

This is a question for your local electrician, who knows the codes for your area.

What would happen if everything started up at once? Would that exceed your cabinet capacity? What is starting/running? Motors? Heaters? Lighting?

There are Canadian members who may be willing to advise you.

Register to Reply
Guru

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: at the beach in Florida
Posts: 19296
Good Answers: 1129
#2

Re: Loading Up Power to A Vault

11/02/2017 2:44 AM

80% continuous(3+ hours) load I think is max recommended.... so that would be 1600 amps@ 600v...

__________________
Life is like riding a bicycle. To keep your balance you must keep moving. A.E.
Register to Reply
Guru
United Kingdom - Member - Indeterminate Engineering Fields - Control Engineering - New Member

Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: In the bothy, 7 chains down the line from Dodman's Lane level crossing, in the nation formerly known as Great Britain, and now disconnecting as Little England and Wales (not too sure about Wales bit, either). Kettle's on.
Posts: 26721
Good Answers: 701
#8
In reply to #2

Re: Loading Up Power to A Vault

11/03/2017 8:27 AM

<...recommended...> By whom or by what applicable standard?

Who accepts liability if there is an incident as a result of this (rhetorical question - NNTR)?

__________________
"Did you get my e-mail?" - "The biggest problem in communication is the illusion that it has taken place" - George Bernard Shaw, 1856
Register to Reply
Guru
United States - Member - New Member Engineering Fields - Power Engineering - New Member

Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: California, USA, where the Godless live next door to God.
Posts: 4408
Good Answers: 732
#3

Re: Loading Up Power to A Vault

11/02/2017 3:56 AM

If you have 3 x 666kVA single phase transformers forming a 3 phase bank, then

I(A) = 1000 × S(kVA) / (3 × VL-L(V) )

666000/ (1.732 x 600) = 640.87

641A continuous if looking at Line to Line current (@600V in your case).

Or did you mean you have 3 x 666kVA 3 phase transformers? You were not clear. If so, triple that value.

But to the earlier point, your local codes can be consulted for how to determine things like "diversity factor" and short term loading.

__________________
** All I every really wanted to be, was... A LUMBERJACK!.**
Register to Reply
Active Contributor

Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 21
#4
In reply to #3

Re: Loading Up Power to A Vault

11/02/2017 8:17 AM

We have 3 x 666kVA 3 phase transformers so we have around 1922.61 amps available at 80% so at 80% that gives us 1538 amps (useable) we will get a "load study" done should we proceed with this project. I was asking the forum to get some idea what was the "industry standard" as if we do not have enough power its very expensive to upgrade the vault or if the local utility has any additional power available in our area

Thanks

Register to Reply
Guru
Safety - Hazmat - New Member United States - US - Statue of Liberty - New Member Engineering Fields - Chemical Engineering - Old Hand

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Lubbock, Texas
Posts: 13569
Good Answers: 155
#6
In reply to #4

Re: Loading Up Power to A Vault

11/02/2017 9:25 AM

You still have to support instantaneous inrush current for equipment starts, if all starts on a single command. Get a local engineering firm to provide your final answer.

__________________
If it ain't broke, don't fix it. Just build a better one.
Register to Reply
Guru
Canada - Member - If there is a way to screw someting up, there is someone to do so! Safety - Hazmat - New Member

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Iqaluit, NU. Canada
Posts: 1811
Good Answers: 137
#5

Re: Loading Up Power to A Vault

11/02/2017 8:45 AM

No answer is accurate without a full and complete understanding of the nature of your distribution equipment. Mainly, you need to know what the nature of the overcurrent devices, and the gear they are installed in, are rated for in regards to maximum continuous loading and the nature of the conductors in the system.

You need to understand the nature of your current system and what additional loading, both continuous and non-continuous, is being proposed to make any sort of rational decision.

Call a reputable electrical engineering firm to assist you.

__________________
Joe Contractor to Electrical Inspector, "What do you mean you are going to make me follow the code?".
Register to Reply
Guru
United Kingdom - Member - Indeterminate Engineering Fields - Control Engineering - New Member

Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: In the bothy, 7 chains down the line from Dodman's Lane level crossing, in the nation formerly known as Great Britain, and now disconnecting as Little England and Wales (not too sure about Wales bit, either). Kettle's on.
Posts: 26721
Good Answers: 701
#7

Re: Loading Up Power to A Vault

11/03/2017 8:25 AM

That would be determined by the settings of the circuit protective equipment devices, which cannot be seen from here.

<...We have...> As the panel is already in situ and in use there will be a set of drawings for the equipment and also a set of commissioning records. The answer to the question lies in those documents. If they are not to hand, the next best thing is to contact the original equipment manufacturer, and telephone is recommended in the first instance.

__________________
"Did you get my e-mail?" - "The biggest problem in communication is the illusion that it has taken place" - George Bernard Shaw, 1856
Register to Reply
Register to Reply 8 comments
Interested in this topic? By joining CR4 you can "subscribe" to
this discussion and receive notification when new comments are added.
Copy to Clipboard

Users who posted comments:

James Stewart (1); JRaef (1); lyn (1); North of 60 (1); Printing Canada (1); PWSlack (2); SolarEagle (1)

Previous in Forum: Control Stepper Motor with vhdl   Next in Forum: 6.6kV Vacuum Contactor (Latched) Opening Time

Advertisement