CR4® - The Engineer's Place for News and Discussion®

Previous in Forum: Plant Availability Factor in Thermal Power Station   Next in Forum: MCOV Rating of LA
Close
Close
Close
44 comments
Active Contributor

HPS Ballast with Metal Halide Bulb

11/18/2017 7:47 PM

I am trying to find information on:

I have a P.L. Light Systems Canada, LR48877 Ballast, 490W, 60Hz 5.2 amps (.) 120v, date on it is 1998

i have a 1000W Metal Halide Bulb

can I...

A) use them together

B) figure out if the ballast if good or bad

C) and if not, please give me information, I am new to this.

thanks

Register to Reply
Interested in this topic? By joining CR4 you can "subscribe" to
this discussion and receive notification when new comments are added.

Comments rated to be Good Answers:

These comments received enough positive ratings to make them "good answers".

Comments rated to be "almost" Good Answers:

Check out these comments that don't yet have enough votes to be "official" good answers and, if you agree with them, rate them!
Guru
Technical Fields - Technical Writing - New Member Engineering Fields - Piping Design Engineering - New Member

Good Answers: 753

Re: HPS Ballast with metal halide bulb

11/18/2017 8:36 PM

The 490W rating of the ballast is way smaller than the 1000W rating of the lamp, so no.

Guru

Good Answers: 1598

11/18/2017 9:56 PM

See #1

Does the Bulb have to match my Ballast?

The bulb wattage must be matched to the ballast. A smaller bulb will usually be fed a wattage close to what the proper bulb takes, and will generally overheat and may catastrophically fail. Any catastrophic failures may not necessarily happen quickly. A larger bulb will be underpowered, and will operate at reduced efficiency and may have a shortened lifetime. The ballast may also overheat from prolonged operation with an oversized bulb that fails to warm.

Register to Reply Good Answer (Score 2)
Active Contributor

In reply to #2

11/18/2017 10:25 PM