CR4® - The Engineer's Place for News and Discussion®

Previous in Forum: Solar Collector   Next in Forum: A Material that Expands Under Pressure
Close
Close
Close
37 comments
Anonymous Poster #1

Effect of Thickness on Auto Welding

11/21/2017 1:55 AM

Hello everyone,

I am a fresh graduate mechanical engineer and right now I am working at a fabrication company where we do welding and beveling for large pipes. these days we are working with a chines Company SEPCO to fabricate some pipes for them and for the sake of productivity calculation, they said our productivity must be 150" diameter, and they gave us a formula to calculate the actual diameter for pipes with a thickness larger than 8mm.

the formula as follows:

Spool size *(1+(thickness in mm - 8/2)*0.1)

let me give an example: let's say that we have a 56" spool with a thickness of 25.4 mm, according to their equation the actual diameter will be:

56"*(1+(25.4-8/2)*0.1) = 104.72

104.72 is the actual di and it is the one that we will use to calculate productivity.

I tried to ask them about it but they are refusing to give an answer. so I was wondering if could help.

does anyone know anything about this formula and why they are using 0.1?

**the beveling degree is 37.5 (it is Auto Welding)

thank you

Interested in this topic? By joining CR4 you can "subscribe" to
this discussion and receive notification when new comments are added.

Comments rated to be Good Answers:

These comments received enough positive ratings to make them "good answers".

Comments rated to be "almost" Good Answers:

Check out these comments that don't yet have enough votes to be "official" good answers and, if you agree with them, rate them!
Guru

Good Answers: 1140

Re: effect of thickness on Auto welding

11/21/2017 3:00 AM
Guru

Good Answers: 176

11/21/2017 5:03 AM