Rating Vote:

9 comments
Participant

Design For Robotic Assembly?

11/27/2007 3:00 AM

How do we start to design for robotic assembly

Register to Reply
Interested in this topic? By joining CR4 you can "subscribe" to
this discussion and receive notification when new comments are added.

Comments rated to be Good Answers:

These comments received enough positive ratings to make them "good answers".
Power-User
Engineering Fields - Mechanical Engineering - By Degree Engineering Fields - Manufacturing Engineering - By Profession Popular Science - Weaponology - By Interest United States - Member - Member Since My Inception

Good Answers: 5

Re: Design for robotic assembly?

11/27/2007 7:57 AM

Three factors determine how easy it is to use an assembly robot for a product. Each product part should be examined with respect to these three important qualities. In order of priority, they are the; necessity of the part to be separate from those which have already been assembled; ease with which the part can be handled, and the ease with which the part can be inserted. By considering these factors in turn, the most economical design of product can be chosen for robot assembly. A measure of the assemble-ability of the product is the 'design efficiency', and this is related to the above factors.