CR4 - The Engineer's Place for News and Discussion®

Previous in Forum: Help me name my 6000 mpg vehicle!   Next in Forum: Human waste ingester
Close

Comments Format:

Close

Subscribe to Discussion:

CR4 allows you to "subscribe" to a discussion
so that you can be notified of new comments to
the discussion via email.

Close

Rating Vote:

24 comments
Anonymous Poster

Fiberglass Recycling and Disposal

03/06/2008 5:28 PM

Hello. I am a student at the Univ of Minnesota and am trying to estimate the amount of fiberglass that is disposed of in landfills each year, recycled for future use, and the average costs of each. Does anyone have an idea of how and where to go about finding that type of information? (US and Canada). What are the best ways to get rid of fiberglass boats, cars, ATVs, etc that are at the end of their useful life? How long does fiberglass take to break down in a landfill? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Interested in this topic? By joining CR4 you can "subscribe" to
this discussion and receive notification when new comments are added.
Guru
Engineering Fields - Environmental Engineering - New Member APIX Pilot Plant Design Project - Member - New Member

Good Answers: 101

Re: Fiberglass Recycling and Disposal

03/06/2008 8:29 PM
In reply to #1

12/22/2010 8:55 AM

The link comes back saying the EPA has no documents related to "Fiberglass". Did you check the link?

Anonymous Poster
In reply to #1

02/04/2011 7:34 AM

get a life

Reply Off Topic (Score 10)
Active Contributor

03/07/2008 1:11 AM

I hope this would you a little,

Here are some materials with approximmated period of degradation

1. Papers = 1 to 6 monthd

2. Tin cans = about 100 years

3. Aluminum = 300 to 600 years

4. Plastics = 300 to 600 years

5. Glass = more than a million years

according to some environmentalist

Good Answers: 22
In reply to #2

03/07/2008 5:38 AM