CR4 - The Engineer's Place for News and Discussion®

Previous in Forum: plasma is out putting 50 volts of the frame.   Next in Forum: Latching Relays.... revisited.
Close

Comments Format:

Close

Subscribe to Discussion:

CR4 allows you to "subscribe" to a discussion
so that you can be notified of new comments to
the discussion via email.

Close

Rating Vote:

14 comments
Participant

GPS Tracking Device the size of a Quarter miniature

06/14/2008 7:05 PM

I am new to this but have a question. I am dealing with a thief and looking for some type of tracking device that can be tracked. The only problem is that it needs to be about the size of a quarter. I don't even know if that is possible or not but I figured that I would try. If you could help, that would be great.

Register to Reply
Pathfinder Tags: gps tracking device spy miniature mini
Interested in this topic? By joining CR4 you can "subscribe" to
this discussion and receive notification when new comments are added.
Guru
Philippines - Member - New Member Engineering Fields - Instrumentation Engineering - New Member Engineering Fields - Control Engineering - Who am I?

Good Answers: 48

Re: GPS Tracking Device the size of a Quarter miniature

06/14/2008 10:31 PM

Does it have to be GPS? If that's the way you want to go, just type "tracking device" in Google. I did and got 1,250,000 hits. Take your pick.

If it's just for one-time use, I'd make a small radio-frequency pulser. Then, I'd use a simple radio-receiver with a directional antenna to track it. The pulser can be as small as about 1/2 to an inch in diameter and maybe 1/4 inch thick.

Good Answers: 5

06/15/2008 10:57 PM

you could try active RFI you attach a disc to the equipment and a reader can be set up in the entry exit door you will then know when something is leaving or coming in. If you type active RFI as a web search you should find something that will suit

Register to Reply
Guru
Canada - Member - New Member Hobbies - Musician - New Member