Sites: GlobalSpec.com | GlobalSpec Electronics | CR4 | Electronics360
Login | Register
The Engineer's Place for News and Discussion®

Previous in Forum: 2001 hyundai santq fe   Next in Forum: 2000 Chevy Express won't start when it's cold?!?!?!?
Close

Comments Format:

Close

Subscribe to Discussion:

CR4 allows you to "subscribe" to a discussion
so that you can be notified of new comments to
the discussion via email.

Close

Rating Vote:

38 comments
Participant

How to Recondition an Old Car Battery

01/01/2009 8:58 PM

How would someone go about reconditionig a old auto battery

Register to Reply
User-tagged by 1 user
Interested in this topic? By joining CR4 you can "subscribe" to
this discussion and receive notification when new comments are added.
Anonymous Poster

Re: How would I reconditon a 12 volt auto battery USA

01/01/2009 9:01 PM
Register to Reply
Active Contributor

01/01/2009 10:19 PM

I am by no means an expert but I do know this much . If someone is selling you one then my advice is to not buy it!. If you are looking to do it yourself I'll need you to stop and think abou what your asking. A car battery works through chemical reaction on metals through the use of a powerful acid (hydrochloric acid) if I recall correctly. When a battery runs low it means one of two things. A) It is low on acid. You can replenish that by filling the individual cells with distilled water only. OR, B) It could be that the metal core that sits in each individual cell is disolved to the point that it can no longer create enough voltage to run your car. In this case the battery is permantly sealed and to open it up is to destroy it. Time to buy a new one. I can only hope you understand and don't do anything foolish. That acid is nasty stuff and it's gasses are explosive! You can get some thing called battery booster that is supposed to enhance or refresh the life in an old battery but I see that as more of a gimmic than anything else but again I can't say for sure. I hope I