so that you can be notified of new comments to
the discussion via email.

Close

Rating Vote:

3 comments

Moment Coefficient at ACI Code

12/08/2010 10:13 PM

hi Guys!

I am studying about the deflection of one-way, beam, I want to compare the result between apply the moment coefficient and use FEM (use software to modelling), however I have trouble about the moment coefficient, I want to know how to obtain this value (1/11 at support, 1/16 at mid...), the method to get these values.

help me, thanks guys.

Register to Reply
Pathfinder Tags: deflection
Interested in this topic? By joining CR4 you can "subscribe" to
this discussion and receive notification when new comments are added.

Comments rated to be Good Answers:

These comments received enough positive ratings to make them "good answers".
Guru

Good Answers: 73

Re: Moment coefficient at ACI Code.

12/08/2010 11:15 PM

Moment coefficients given in ACI code are approximations. They are on the safe side but they are not theoretically accurate. In order to find accurate moment coefficients, you must consider a set of continuous beams loaded in a variety of ways. If you place live load in alternate spans, you will find the maximum positive moment in the loaded spans. To find maximum negative moment at a particular support, you must place live load on each adjacent span and on alternate spans beyond.

In other words, the maximum moment envelope is developed by considering many different loading patterns. Two cycle moment distribution is a simple and concise hand method of approximating the maximum moments at all points, both positive and negative.