CR4 - The Engineer's Place for News and Discussion ®
Login | Register for Engineering Community (CR4)


Previous in Forum: Multiplication Factor   Next in Forum: Working of Resistance
Close
Close
Close
3 comments
Active Contributor

Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 11

DG Synchronizing

12/20/2010 5:52 AM

What are the basic requirements for DG's synchronizing ? Is it possible to synchronize 500KVA DG with 1000KVA ?

Register to Reply
Interested in this topic? By joining CR4 you can "subscribe" to
this discussion and receive notification when new comments are added.
Power-User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 189
Good Answers: 11
#1

Re: DG synchronizing

12/20/2010 6:27 AM

Yes, why not but please see this link for requirement condition.

http://cr4.globalspec.com/thread/57066

Register to Reply
Guru

Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 919
Good Answers: 63
#2

Re: DG synchronizing

12/20/2010 6:53 AM

The BASIC requirements are a) voltmeters on busbar and incoming generator which can measure voltage to match to within 1%: b) Manual AVR (voltage regulator) voltage adjust lower and raise switch c) Circuit breaker and manual close switch which can connect generator within 0.2s of your pressing close button d) Governor and speed lower and raise switch which can adjust frequency to within 0.05 Hz or better of busbar frequency e) Synchronising Lamps to indicate when incoming and running gensets are in phase. All the switches/buttons and indicators need to be close together for the effectiveness of the operator. But if you have 500 and 500 kVA, you can wreck the 500 kVA if you get it all wrong and connect 180 degrees out of phase and I would suggest a CHECK SYNC relay which has a contact in the closing circuit which is closed only while the phase angle is acceptable. There are also Synchroscopes and phase meters which indicate the phase error and automatic synchronisers, but these are not basic

Register to Reply
Guru

Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 919
Good Answers: 63
#3
In reply to #2

Re: DG synchronizing

12/20/2010 2:28 PM

Sory for error, I meant to write "1000 kVA and 500 kVA" NOT "500 kVA and 500 kVA"!!

Register to Reply
Register to Reply 3 comments
Interested in this topic? By joining CR4 you can "subscribe" to
this discussion and receive notification when new comments are added.

Previous in Forum: Multiplication Factor   Next in Forum: Working of Resistance

Engineering Newsletter Signup
Get the Engineering360
Stay up to date on:
Advancements in components for batteries, diodes and LED's, and innovations in consumer and commercial products.

Advertisement