Sites: GlobalSpec.com | GlobalSpec Electronics | CR4 | Electronics360
Login | Register
The Engineer's Place for News and Discussion®

Previous in Forum: Odd Alternator Winding Configuration, 12 Pole Rotor 11 Pole Stator   Next in Forum: Help Please 03 Cavalier
Close

Comments Format:






Close

Subscribe to Discussion:

CR4 allows you to "subscribe" to a discussion
so that you can be notified of new comments to
the discussion via email.

Close

Rating Vote:







8 comments
Participant

Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1

Dodge Torque Converter

03/20/2011 4:45 PM

i have a 1985 dodge ram 4x4 truck was running find when the torque converter started leaking . i replaced with a new one . now the truck will idel and rev up in park but i put it in gear and it will back fire and die . could i have install the wrong converter . if the converter was a non lockup and they gave me a lockup could this be my problem

Register to Reply
Interested in this topic? By joining CR4 you can "subscribe" to
this discussion and receive notification when new comments are added.

Comments rated to be Good Answers:

These comments received enough positive ratings to make them "good answers".
Guru
Hobbies - Fishing - New Member

Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Raleigh, NC USA
Posts: 12779
Good Answers: 419
#1

Re: dodge torque converter

03/20/2011 7:05 PM

Parts places are interested in making money. They may be of some help, but ultimately it's up to you to make sure you are putting the right part in your vehicle.

Yes, it sounds like you could have the wrong converter. Next time, make sure you are replacing the parts that match the requirements of your truck.

Sorry to sound harsh, but this will save you a lot of money in the long run.

Did you follow the manual for filling the new torque converter with fluid?

Sometimes doing your own work gets way more expensive than hiring a pro.

I say that because I've been there, done that, saw the movie, got the T shirt.

__________________
If you expect what you've learned to outlive you............give it away.
Register to Reply
3
Guru

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Cypress Calif
Posts: 734
Good Answers: 23
#2

Re: Dodge Torque Converter

03/20/2011 8:58 PM

Just a thought but it is possible when you were moving things around a vacuum line was pulled off, this could easily cause problems such as you're having. I would check all lines and plug wires and make sure they're connected correctly.

I'm guessing you have an A engine with a distributor located at the rear if so the distributor cap could have become dislodged or cracked (against the firewall) when you've replaced the torque converter.

__________________
"The reasonable man adapts himself to the world; the unreasonable one persists in trying to adapt the world to himself. Therefore all progress depends on the unreasonable man" George Shaw
Register to Reply Good Answer (Score 3)
Power-User
Hobbies - Musician - New Member Hobbies - Car Customizing - New Member Hobbies - Target Shooting - New Member Engineering Fields - Power Engineering - New Member

Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: FL Space Coast
Posts: 367
Good Answers: 8
#3
In reply to #2

Re: Dodge Torque Converter

03/20/2011 11:03 PM

Having whacked the distributor on the firewall myself, many times, doing tranny work on 80's Dodges, that is definately where I would check first. The "backfires and dies" comment leads me to believe that it would be ignition related as well. I agree that it could be a disconnected vacuum line as well though.

Register to Reply
Guru

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Cypress Calif
Posts: 734
Good Answers: 23
#4
In reply to #3

Re: Dodge Torque Converter

03/21/2011 1:28 AM

It sounds like you know the beast, they can even get to the distributor cap with bad or broken motor mounts.

__________________
"The reasonable man adapts himself to the world; the unreasonable one persists in trying to adapt the world to himself. Therefore all progress depends on the unreasonable man" George Shaw
Register to Reply
Power-User
Hobbies - Musician - New Member Hobbies - Car Customizing - New Member Hobbies - Target Shooting - New Member Engineering Fields - Power Engineering - New Member

Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: FL Space Coast
Posts: 367
Good Answers: 8
#5
In reply to #4

Re: Dodge Torque Converter

03/21/2011 6:44 AM

Yup, had the same problem with the busted motor mounts before as well

Thats why I love the B's and RB's. Of course, who doesnt love a big block anyway

Register to Reply
Guru

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Cypress Calif
Posts: 734
Good Answers: 23
#6
In reply to #5

Re: Dodge Torque Converter

03/21/2011 8:17 AM

The B engine is designed the way all engines should be. Don't take my word for it though ask my avatar.

The distributor is not only at the front but also could be removed for easy setting of the points (back in the day) and can only be reinstalled in or 180° out.

The impeller section can be removed from the water pump housing by removing 4 bolts.

The oil pump is external and can be replaced in a few minutes.

__________________
"The reasonable man adapts himself to the world; the unreasonable one persists in trying to adapt the world to himself. Therefore all progress depends on the unreasonable man" George Shaw
Register to Reply Off Topic (Score 5)
Power-User
Hobbies - Musician - New Member Hobbies - Car Customizing - New Member Hobbies - Target Shooting - New Member Engineering Fields - Power Engineering - New Member

Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: FL Space Coast
Posts: 367
Good Answers: 8
#7
In reply to #6

Re: Dodge Torque Converter

03/22/2011 12:47 AM

...and the oil filter is super easy to get to and doesn't piss oil all over the side of the block (and crossmember) when you remove it. Not to mention the dry bed intake manifold and the superior strength deep skirted block.

Dang I miss my 440 'Cuda

Register to Reply Off Topic (Score 5)
Member

Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 7
#8

Re: Dodge Torque Converter

03/23/2011 1:09 PM

A lockup converter would need some type of input such as a solenoid. This would cause your engine to die in gear if it were the problem. Sounds like the distributor may have moved. Always place the torque converter on to the tranny input shaft when installing, some have bolted it to the fly wheel and then try to put the tranny on this can damage the torque converter. Good luck.

Register to Reply
Register to Reply 8 comments
Interested in this topic? By joining CR4 you can "subscribe" to
this discussion and receive notification when new comments are added.

Comments rated to be Good Answers:

These comments received enough positive ratings to make them "good answers".
Copy to Clipboard

Users who posted comments:

IanR (3); kramarat (1); toolman1164 (1); YWROADRUNNER (3)

Previous in Forum: Odd Alternator Winding Configuration, 12 Pole Rotor 11 Pole Stator   Next in Forum: Help Please 03 Cavalier
You might be interested in: Torque Tubes and Torque Arms, Torque Sensors, Frequency-to-Voltage Converter Chips