CR4 - The Engineer's Place for News and Discussion®

Previous in Forum: Screen for Sea Water Intake   Next in Forum: Pre-Insulated Black Steel Chilled Water Underground Pipe
Close

Comments Format:

Close

Subscribe to Discussion:

CR4 allows you to "subscribe" to a discussion
so that you can be notified of new comments to
the discussion via email.

Close

Rating Vote:

15 comments
Power-User

Pneumatic vs. Hydraulic Cylinders

05/30/2011 10:04 AM

I have asked this in the link provided below, but I figured the thread had died. I am not a mechanical engineer, so I would like some info.

I want to consider the construction of the bucket loader's "arm" - like the one at construction sites. In such a case, what differences (advantages and disadvantages) would exist in using pneumatic pistons in place of hydraulic pistons?

I want to create a model of such a thing, using pneumatic pistons instead of the actual hydraulic pistons. If anyone can put this to me simple, in points (1., 2., 3. ...), I would appreciate it.

I understand that pneumatics use air, while hydraulics use oil. I understand the basic principle of pneumatic/hydraulic systems which multiply the force by trading them for distance moved - much like other "simple machines".

Register to Reply
Interested in this topic? By joining CR4 you can "subscribe" to
this discussion and receive notification when new comments are added.

Comments rated to be Good Answers:

These comments received enough positive ratings to make them "good answers".

Comments rated to be "almost" Good Answers:

Check out these comments that don't yet have enough votes to be "official" good answers and, if you agree with them, rate them!
Guru
Hobbies - Automotive Performance - New Member Popular Science - Weaponology - New Member

Location: Want to be: 34° 34' 21.60" N, 92° 55' 42.28" W Really am in Arizona
Good Answers: 1098

Re: Pneumatic vs. Hydraulic Cylinders

05/30/2011 10:10 AM