Sites: GlobalSpec.com | GlobalSpec Electronics | CR4 | Electronics360
Login | Register
The Engineer's Place for News and Discussion®

Previous in Forum: Engine starting batteries, etc.   Next in Forum: Relay Anomaly
Close

Comments Format:

Close

Subscribe to Discussion:

CR4 allows you to "subscribe" to a discussion
so that you can be notified of new comments to
the discussion via email.

Close

Rating Vote:

23 comments
Active Contributor

UPS Transformer ?!? Specifications - Power Supply?

07/04/2011 11:22 PM

This is my first time to post on this particular forum. I have been searching for some specification on a transformer all over the internet when I happened upon this forum. I am not an electrical engineer, just a tinker that sometimes gets in over his head. I am attempting to make a DC power supply and I need a step down transformer that will provide me with about 16 volts at about 50 amps. I acquired a transformer that is purposed to meet those requirements but I have some doubts. The markings of the transformer are as follows:

430-7101B.12

Class 180(H) R333H

E154515 LEI-6

3 D 24

Attached are several pictures. If my memory serves me correctly it looks like it came out of a UPS.

I was instructed to apply 120 volts to the yellow and white wires and then connect the blue and black wires together. That is supposed to yield 16.4 volts open circuit at 50 + amps.

He when on to tell me that I could get 14.4 volts by applying 120 volts to the white and black wires and leave the blue and yellow wires open.

Or finally I could get 12.9 volts by applying 120 volts to the white and blue wires and the connecting the black and yellow wires together.

What do you think?

Pretty versatile transformer if it can truly fulfill those claims and useful information as UPS transformer are easy to come by.