Previous in Forum: Pioneer Turntable Speed Problems   Next in Forum: Brainy
Close
Close
Close
19 comments
Participant

Energy By Motion Generators (EBM)

11/20/2011 1:47 PM

I received an email from an acquaintance in Hungary regarding the prototype EBM generators being developed in Budapest. I am a retired Control Systems Engineer, with extensive experience with M/G sets and synchronous motors. As I read some of the information, and viewed the 3kW generator demo (see attached Youtube links), it occured to me that the concept must be related to synchronous generator principles.

I was somewhat impressed by the demo showing a 3kW modified generator, initially started by a 3/4 hp induction motor, connected to utility power, then as the generator reaches full speed, the motor is switched to the generator output, and apparently sustaining generator rotation until the generator power is interrupted to the motor.

Additionally, the generator is capable of driving a 14 Amp grinder or a 16 Amp drill press, in addition to ustaining the the drive motor load, which at the 3/4 horsepower rating will require 13 Amps. Even if the drive motor would require occasional utility power, this could easily be accomplished via a voltage sensing control circuit.

Does anyone have any detailed insight into the modification requirements for the generator ? Are special field coils required ?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=quJbg9noIvU&feature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LFu-s6ZmGyE&feature=related

3 kW-os generátor 1 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IIuBpPD-9ww&feature=related

Register to Reply
Pathfinder Tags: EBM Generators
Interested in this topic? By joining CR4 you can "subscribe" to
this discussion and receive notification when new comments are added.

Comments rated to be "almost" Good Answers:

Check out these comments that don't yet have enough votes to be "official" good answers and, if you agree with them, rate them!
Guru

Good Answers: 1125