CR4 - The Engineer's Place for News and Discussion®

Previous in Forum: Combining Feed and Hands Power   Next in Forum: How To Plan for Manufacturing Medical Equipment
Close

Comments Format:

Close

Subscribe to Discussion:

CR4 allows you to "subscribe" to a discussion
so that you can be notified of new comments to
the discussion via email.

Close

Rating Vote:

74 comments
Guru
Hobbies - Fishing - New Member

Good Answers: 459

Is Competition Leading To Bad Science?

04/18/2012 8:50 AM

It's starting to look like it. I'm no scientist, but it seems to me that this type of thing would actually set science back...............big time!!

http://www.nytimes.com/2012/04/17/science/rise-in-scientific-journal-retractions-prompts-calls-for-reform.html?pagewanted=1&_r=1

Interested in this topic? By joining CR4 you can "subscribe" to
this discussion and receive notification when new comments are added.

Comments rated to be Good Answers:

These comments received enough positive ratings to make them "good answers".

Comments rated to be "almost" Good Answers:

Check out these comments that don't yet have enough votes to be "official" good answers and, if you agree with them, rate them!
Guru
Hobbies - CNC - New Member Hobbies - DIY Welding - New Member Engineering Fields - Electromechanical Engineering - New Member

Good Answers: 156

Re: Is Competition Leading To Bad Science?

04/18/2012 8:58 AM

There are probably two reasons. At least in this country.

1.) $, company's want to boost stock value at a critical time.

and/or

2.) Due to government trying to rein in spending with budget cuts, each government subsided department (no matter where academic, private) is trying to influence the importance of their projects.

In reply to #1

04/18/2012 9:36 AM

It's a shame.