Sites: GlobalSpec.com | GlobalSpec Electronics | CR4 | Electronics360
Login | Register
The Engineer's Place for News and Discussion®

Previous in Forum: Shunt Reactor for 11kV system   Next in Forum: 230V AC Supply Has Got Mixed With 220V DC Supply
Close

Comments Format:






Close

Subscribe to Discussion:

CR4 allows you to "subscribe" to a discussion
so that you can be notified of new comments to
the discussion via email.

Close

Rating Vote:







6 comments
Associate

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: INDIA,Odisha.
Posts: 36

On & Off a Light Using Switches

05/15/2012 2:37 AM

how can wire up a light fixture so that any of N switches can turn it ON or OFF ??

__________________
"Reduce GLOBAL WARMING & Make the World SMILING "
Register to Reply
Interested in this topic? By joining CR4 you can "subscribe" to
this discussion and receive notification when new comments are added.

Comments rated to be Good Answers:

These comments received enough positive ratings to make them "good answers".

Comments rated to be "almost" Good Answers:

Check out these comments that don't yet have enough votes to be "official" good answers and, if you agree with them, rate them!
3
Guru

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Etherville
Posts: 13543
Good Answers: 91
#1

Re: ON & OFF a Light using switches

05/15/2012 3:00 AM

You need two 3-way switches, and a bunch of 4-way switches. Something like that.

__________________
FUNEX
Register to Reply Good Answer (Score 3)
Associate

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: INDIA,Odisha.
Posts: 36
#3
In reply to #1

Re: ON & OFF a Light using switches

05/15/2012 11:52 AM

how to wire up using DPDT switches ..??

thank You..

__________________
"Reduce GLOBAL WARMING & Make the World SMILING "
Register to Reply
Guru

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Etherville
Posts: 13543
Good Answers: 91
#4
In reply to #3

Re: ON & OFF a Light using switches

05/15/2012 12:45 PM

There's a possibility we could get confused in terminology here.

__________________
FUNEX
Register to Reply Score 1 for Good Answer
Guru
United Kingdom - Member - Indeterminate Engineering Fields - Control Engineering - New Member

Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: In the bothy, 7 chains down the line from Dodman's Lane level crossing, in the nation formerly known as Great Britain - possibly to become "South Scotland" or "Non-Caledonia" from September 2016. Kettle's on.
Posts: 22411
Good Answers: 565
#5
In reply to #3

Re: ON & OFF a Light using switches

05/16/2012 4:35 AM

If in doubt, consult a qualified local electrician.

__________________
The recent explosion of personal telephony across the globe seems to have gone hand-in-hand with a profound reluctance to actually use the damn things for the purpose for which they have been designed.
Register to Reply Score 1 for Good Answer
2
Guru
Engineering Fields - Electrical Engineering - New Member United Kingdom - Member - New Member Engineering Fields - Electromechanical Engineering - New Member

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Under the Major Oak
Posts: 3443
Good Answers: 137
#2

Re: On & Off a Light Using Switches

05/15/2012 8:18 AM

Sorry old UK colours.

__________________
Pessimists are rarely disappointed.
Register to Reply Good Answer (Score 2)
Associate

Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 47
Good Answers: 1
#6

Re: On & Off a Light Using Switches

05/22/2012 8:27 PM

What you need is one spdt switch with the armature connected to the source and another spdt with its' armature connected to the load with the other side of the load connected to neutral. In between the two spdt switches you can add as many dpdt switches as you desire to the switch legs, and any one of the switches will be capable of turning the light on or off, but be sure you have the dpdt switches wired as reversing switches...Clint

__________________
Clintb3252
Register to Reply
Register to Reply 6 comments
Interested in this topic? By joining CR4 you can "subscribe" to
this discussion and receive notification when new comments are added.

Comments rated to be Good Answers:

These comments received enough positive ratings to make them "good answers".

Comments rated to be "almost" Good Answers:

Check out these comments that don't yet have enough votes to be "official" good answers and, if you agree with them, rate them!
Copy to Clipboard

Users who posted comments:

Clintb32 (1); Kris (2); PWSlack (1); RAMAKANTA (1); TonyS (1)

Previous in Forum: Shunt Reactor for 11kV system   Next in Forum: 230V AC Supply Has Got Mixed With 220V DC Supply