Previous in Forum: Vertical Canned Pumps Can Inspection   Next in Forum: Using Hydrostatic Pressure to Boost Stored Energy
Close
Close
Close
26 comments
Associate

What's the Best Material for a Blacksmith Forge?

02/06/2013 9:34 PM

I am thinking of making a small forge for my own use and can't decide what material is best. One blacksmith group likes brick and ceramic designs but the other one said iron was the normal material. I am new at this craft and I didn't know which was better. Can anyone help? I need a material for high heat use.

Interested in this topic? By joining CR4 you can "subscribe" to
this discussion and receive notification when new comments are added.

Comments rated to be Good Answers:

These comments received enough positive ratings to make them "good answers".

Comments rated to be "almost" Good Answers:

Check out these comments that don't yet have enough votes to be "official" good answers and, if you agree with them, rate them!
Guru
Engineering Fields - Mechanical Engineering -

Good Answers: 71

Re: Whats the best material for a blacksmith forge?

02/06/2013 9:56 PM

Depends on what you will be working. If you have a coal fire with a nice bed of coal and are careful not to poke around too much you can get away with a fire-brick liner on a good steel. If you rake around and are working large pieces you might be better suited with a cast iron firebox.

The forge I used was an old shoeing forge, a bit smaller than what I really needed but worked for me. It was cast iron with a nice clinker removing bit at the bottom and it had good air flow. With a deep bed of coal I could heat a 12 inch rod almost all the way across (if I moved it a bit).

Are you making this or buying? Have you considered a gas forge (they are usually cheaper)?

See if you have a smith in your area who can let you bang around a bit to get a feel for what you want.

Drew K

In reply to #1

02/06/2013 10:20 PM