CR4® - The Engineer's Place for News and Discussion®

Previous in Forum: Internal Grinding   Next in Forum: Whether Qualification of CS-SS is Valid for CS-CS and SS-SS
Close
Close
Close
5 comments
Active Contributor

Location: I have an African dream, to sit under the clear skies,in the bush, with a campfire with my dear wife as company
Good Answers: 1

Leak Testing, Transformer Tanks, Assemblies: 695 MVA

09/29/2014 2:13 AM

Could anybody in the transformer manufacturing industry advise me what the best method would be to test transformer tanks and parts thereof.I am new in this industry. At this stage we only test the transformer assembly when completed with oil inside with the active parts with vacuum overpressure. The capillary action of warm oil is more than than those of liquid penetrant, because also with the compressive force associated. The completed transformer weight is about 150 tons. I recommended that we excecute a soap leak test in the fabrication workshop before sandblast and paint. I did some research, and found companies in this industry are following this procedure.

this discussion and receive notification when new comments are added.

Comments rated to be "almost" Good Answers:

Check out these comments that don't yet have enough votes to be "official" good answers and, if you agree with them, rate them!
Guru

Location: Commissariat de Police, Nouvions, occupied France, 1942.
Good Answers: 76

Re: Leak Testing, Transformer Tanks, Assemblies:695 MVA

09/29/2014 1:10 PM

Hydraulically. You don't want the thing to rupture and throw bits everywhere. Anyways, your outfit should have a procedure to follow that has been reviewed by your indemnity insurance contact. Did you ring that individual or do you want me to do it for you?

Location: I have an African dream, to sit under the clear skies,in the bush, with a campfire with my dear wife as company
In reply to #1

Re: Leak Testing, Transformer Tanks, Assemblies:695 MVA

09/30/2014 2:04 AM