CR4® - The Engineer's Place for News and Discussion®

Previous in Forum: Your opinion?   Next in Forum: MBA Program Beneficial for Engineering Student Career?
Close
Close
Close
19 comments
Participant

First Time Applying to Internship; Qualified?

02/28/2015 4:10 PM

To begin, I'm currently a Sophomore. I got to a Cal State Uni and came in Undeclared up until my 2nd year when I declared Mechanical Engineering. For the most part, I don't know exactly what I want to do with Engineering (Speciality wise), but everyone has recommended Mechanical as it's sort of the "utility man" of all the branches.

I actually just got an email with an internship opportunity. There are 9 positions for undergrads and I have one simple question; A few of the jobs list that I have at least 2 years of study. Here's the question: My first year of college I was undeclared and just worked on GE's. I declared Mechanical my 2nd year and am now full into the program (taken 2 engineering classes thus far), although I'm behind two classes that I should be taking now but can't because I started the program a year late. Would you guys consider this as an adequate two years? I could easily apply for the positions that only require 1 year of study, but I'd much prefer to apply for the ones that require 2 years simply because they are much more of a challenge and give me more drafting/field experience vs correcting online manuals and creating memorandums (BORING!). I feel as if I'm qualified for the positions that are asking for 2 years of study so I'm not trying to take on something beyond my skill.

Bonus Question: It asks for "Position Interest". Would they hold it against me if I put multiple positions down?

And also, what should I expect if I do get an interview? I've never had a real job interview so I don't know what to anticipate, but I am great with people and have a confident/mature demeanor about myself so I'm not too worried.

Register to Reply