Previous in Forum: Laptop Security   Next in Forum: ANSYS and Thermal Analysis
Close
Close
Close
6 comments
Member

Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 6

Simulink Modeling of Wind Energy System

03/22/2010 1:32 AM

In MATLAB 7.6.0 , I made use of a single dimensional look up table to input a series of wind speed data to the "Wind speed" input in the 'Wind turbine' block.

However, it shows an error saying there may be a 'singularity in the solution'.

I want to know if the approach I've adopted is right and what input should be used to the block or what modifications should be made to rectify this problem.

__________________
The smallest deed is greater than the grandest intention.
Register to Reply
Interested in this topic? By joining CR4 you can "subscribe" to
this discussion and receive notification when new comments are added.
Guru
Technical Fields - Technical Writing - New Member Engineering Fields - Piping Design Engineering - New Member

Join Date: May 2009
Location: Richland, WA, USA
Posts: 21006
Good Answers: 781
#1

Re: Simulink modeling of wind energy system

03/22/2010 4:02 AM

That might be better than a "duality in the solution." If a cell referenced in your formula refers to something outside the boundary of the table, this might be a case of division by zero. (?)

Watch out for any singularity! If it inflates into a new universe, it might swallow up this one. Oops.

__________________
In vino veritas; in cervisia carmen; in aqua E. coli.
Register to Reply
Member

Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 6
#2
In reply to #1

Re: Simulink modeling of wind energy system

03/26/2010 1:51 AM

Well,I used a single dimensional look up table having a series of wind speeds and I input it to a wind turbine blockset.

Now what do I have to make changes to ? should I include a Saturation block after the table,perhaps?

Need some modeling suggestions! :(

__________________
The smallest deed is greater than the grandest intention.
Register to Reply
Guru
Technical Fields - Technical Writing - New Member Engineering Fields - Piping Design Engineering - New Member

Join Date: May 2009
Location: Richland, WA, USA
Posts: 21006
Good Answers: 781
#3
In reply to #2

Re: Simulink modeling of wind energy system

03/26/2010 1:55 PM

I am not familiar with the structure of MatLab, so I was going only on how an MS-Excel lookup table works. In that case, if you somehow try to look up a value outside the defined range of the table, you might well have a calculation that includes a division by zero. MS-Excel would give the message DIV0! (or something like that); I'm just guessing that "singularity" means the same. And then I made two jokes.... My apologies for any confusion; I was just having a bit of fun.

__________________
In vino veritas; in cervisia carmen; in aqua E. coli.
Register to Reply
Participant

Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1
#4

Re: Simulink Modeling of Wind Energy System

03/30/2010 9:45 AM

yes. my e-mail is tpmniki@gmail.com, I will be more glad if you will show the look up sketch. let me try. your error lies on the in put. Ok. try revolutions of the propellers as input, Hence, angular acceleration as input.

Register to Reply
Member

Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 6
#5

Re: Simulink Modeling of Wind Energy System

04/01/2010 5:58 AM

Tornado,thanks so much. I got a better idea about the problem now! Time to break my head,I guess! And it was a good one,by the way! :)

tpmniki,I shall mail you the file ASAP! Thanks so much!

__________________
The smallest deed is greater than the grandest intention.
Register to Reply
Anonymous Poster
#6

Re: Simulink Modeling of Wind Energy System

06/04/2010 7:02 AM

Hello friends

I am quite new to matlab Simulink, I have started designing of Grid integration of wind turbine

I have used 1. Wind turbine block (have input of speed,pitch angle, generator speed & torque as o/p)

2.the torque is used as input to drive the asynchronous block(squirrel cage, in pu)

3. which consist of two step up/step down t/f

4. 30 km PI section Transmission line ,

5. I considered grid as programmable voltage source

so i have one fundamental question how the parameters for all the components are set ?

based on what manner the parameters should be calculated?

Just dont reply like read basic machines book blah blah blah...

just reply with concrete method from where i have to start calculate the parameters?

if there any pdf or books for this help me out.

If there is any other open source package to do this simulation just let me know?

Register to Reply Off Topic (Score 5)
Register to Reply 6 comments
Interested in this topic? By joining CR4 you can "subscribe" to
this discussion and receive notification when new comments are added.
Copy to Clipboard

Users who posted comments:

Anonymous Poster (1); saarang (2); Tornado (2); tpmniki (1)

Previous in Forum: Laptop Security   Next in Forum: ANSYS and Thermal Analysis

Advertisement