Previous in Forum: Gulf of Mexico Oil Spill   Next in Forum: Fall Protection Requirements
Close
Close
Close
10 comments
Associate

Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 32

Solidworks 2006 Video Card

04/30/2010 8:57 AM

I am purchasing a new computer and will be running Solidworks 2006. This computer will have a 1GB NVIDA GeForce GT220 video card. I looked at a list of known good cards on a Solidworks site but they only go back to Solidworks 2008, and this card does not appear. Can anyone offer an opinion as to whether this card will be OK with 2006? I was running 2006 on a computer with an ATI Mobility Radeon X1400 video card with no problems and it also does not appear on any Soliworks list, so I know several would most likely work, but I'd appreciate some thoughts from those more knowledgeable on the subject. In both cases the OS is Windows XP. Thank you.

Register to Reply
Interested in this topic? By joining CR4 you can "subscribe" to
this discussion and receive notification when new comments are added.

Comments rated to be Good Answers:

These comments received enough positive ratings to make them "good answers".

Comments rated to be "almost" Good Answers:

Check out these comments that don't yet have enough votes to be "official" good answers and, if you agree with them, rate them!
Guru
Popular Science - Evolution - New Member Popular Science - Weaponology - New Member

Join Date: May 2006
Location: The 'Space Coast', USA
Posts: 11109
Good Answers: 918
#1

Re: Solidworks 2006 Video Card

04/30/2010 9:23 AM

The best thing is to contact Solidworks:

DS SolidWorks Headquarters

Dassault Systèmes SolidWorks Corp.

300 Baker Avenue

Concord, MA 01742

1-800-693-9000 US and Canada

+1-978-371-5011 Outside the US and Canada

Dassault Systèmes SolidWorks Corp.(West)

3000 Ocean Park Blvd.

Suite 2001

Santa Monica, CA 90405

1-800-469-7287

+1-310-309-2800

My gut tells me that the GeForce is not going to cut it. They are gaming cards, not CAD.

My bet is that you need a Quadro based card NVIDA card.

There are also many Solidworks support forums on the web that would be a good resource, but I would pick up the phone and dial one of those numbers first.

Register to Reply
Anonymous Poster
#2

Re: Solidworks 2006 Video Card

04/30/2010 11:23 PM

I have run a number of CAD programs on both GeForce and a quadro FX1400 cards and not had too much problem, but would recommend that if you want serious performance then like Anonymous Hero says....go for a Quadro

Register to Reply
Guru
Panama - Member - New Member Hobbies - CNC - New Member Engineering Fields - Marine Engineering - New Member Engineering Fields - Retired Engineers / Mentors - New Member

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Panama
Posts: 4273
Good Answers: 213
#3

Re: Solidworks 2006 Video Card

04/30/2010 11:26 PM

Quoting Dr.Moose from the thread "Downgrading to Windows 7", Post #88:

"A professional graphics card is designed for CAD/CAM. A video or gaming card is designed for home use and video gaming. In the real world though, these definitions can become very confused.

So, briefly. In CAD/CAM, we have huge numbers of polygons which don't move around a lot. In gaming, you have relatively few polygons which move about very rapidly indeed. So the two types have quite the opposite requirements, and graphics engines are designed to support these requirements. Thus, a top level video card will not do so well for high end CAD/CAM, nor will a top level pro graphics card do so well for high end gaming.

Professional graphics cards have nVidia Quadro or ATI Fire chips, whereas video cards will have the nVidia GeForce or ATI Radeon."

DrMoose appears quite knowledgeable in these matters...

Register to Reply
Commentator

Join Date: May 2009
Location: Gosford, Sydney, Australia
Posts: 55
#4

Re: Solidworks 2006 Video Card

05/01/2010 1:17 AM

Popcornwizard

What an Interesting question?

Is the soildworks for private or professional use?

and what are planning to do on solidworks?

Are you planning to do any photo realistic rendering for magazines and or catalogues?

If so you more than likely go for another graphics card and upgrade the Solidworks......

If its for private use then i think you will be perfectly fine...i have found that solidworks basically running on any system and with any graphics cards although it may be much slower on some systems........but that depends on your budget........i believe that the graphics card issues is an opportunity for the solidworks resellers to up sell to you an additional graphics card...where yours will works perfectly fine....the only way 2 fine out is to run it and fine out.......you can always upgrade your graphics latter anyway....

let us know how u get on

Anthony@ALNO

www.alnoproductservices.com.au

Register to Reply Score 1 for Good Answer
Commentator
Hobbies - Fishing - New Member

Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Cape Town, South Africa
Posts: 60
#5
In reply to #4

Re: Solidworks 2006 Video Card

05/01/2010 8:32 AM

I cannot remember SolidWorks 2006 anymore, but certainly the later versions (2008 onwards) really want a Quadro type card.

However, all is not lost as one can "soft mod" a GeForce card into a Quadro card using Riva Tuner.

Also check this site for a good guide on how to do it

I run SolidWorks 2010 with a GeForce 8600GT which I have soft modded into a Quadro FX1700 with full Solidworks graphics functionality.

Brgds

__________________
Do it while you still can!!
Register to Reply
Guru

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Tulare, CA
Posts: 1783
Good Answers: 35
#6

Re: Solidworks 2006 Video Card

05/01/2010 10:40 AM

I have Solidworks 2008 and my video card is Nvidia Quadro FX 3500.

__________________
Why is there never enough time to do it right the first time but always enough time to do it over?
Register to Reply
Guru

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Tulare, CA
Posts: 1783
Good Answers: 35
#7

Re: Solidworks 2006 Video Card

05/01/2010 10:45 AM

Just to add:

Don't change any of the components until after you've installed the Solidworks program first and tried it out.

There's no need to change anything if the program works fine with the configuration that currently exists in your computer.

Solidworks with it's lisencing is expensive enough as it is, so why spend more for a video card if you don't need too.

If your program is running sluggishly or freezes up then consider the new video card but not until you've expanded the RAM first. RAM card is cheaper then a video card and often times will resolve a slow running computer issue.

__________________
Why is there never enough time to do it right the first time but always enough time to do it over?
Register to Reply Score 1 for Good Answer
2
Guru
Popular Science - Evolution - New Member Popular Science - Weaponology - New Member

Join Date: May 2006
Location: The 'Space Coast', USA
Posts: 11109
Good Answers: 918
#8
In reply to #7

Re: Solidworks 2006 Video Card

05/01/2010 11:27 AM

The original poster is in the process of selecting a PC, so he has nothing to try, yet.

If the budget can be stretched, it is wiser to buy a system that exceeds basic needs so that it does not become obsolete too fast and provides an upgrade path for newer versions of Solidworks.

Register to Reply Good Answer (Score 2)
Guru

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Tulare, CA
Posts: 1783
Good Answers: 35
#9
In reply to #8

Re: Solidworks 2006 Video Card

05/01/2010 11:37 AM

Yes I understand that.

He's working with Solidworks 2006. If he's buying a new computer then chances are the hardware in that computerd will be more then what systems had available in 2006. If the video card he's asking about isn't showing up in the 2006 video requirements then maybe it wasn't around yet in 2006.

If he's using the computer for other applications like video games then he should go for the top of the line video card but if he's just using it for Solidworks, he can just get what works and stick with it and not spend money that he doesn't need too because most business applications don't require upgrading hardware like video games do.

__________________
Why is there never enough time to do it right the first time but always enough time to do it over?
Register to Reply Score 1 for Good Answer
Guru
Engineering Fields - Aerospace Engineering - Member United States - Member - Army Vet in the aviation industry

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Bridgewater, Va.
Posts: 2054
Good Answers: 112
#10

Re: Solidworks 2006 Video Card

05/03/2010 11:23 AM

The key is whether Solidworks 2006 supports opengl or directx, or both. If it requires opengl then you're probably stuck with what Solidworks recommends. If it allows directx (probably directx 9.0 in that timeframe) then go with the cheaper Geforce cards if you're not planning on doing any high resolution animations.

I'm currently running a bunch of Inventor 2010 64 bit systems on I7 computers using nVidia GTX-260's. We're happier than pigs in pooh with these machines, even if Autodesk doesn't have those cards on their recommended list. When Autodesk declared they were dropping support for opengl and focusing only on directx, then Geforce cards became fair game, IMO.

Dave G.

Register to Reply Score 1 for Good Answer
Register to Reply 10 comments
Interested in this topic? By joining CR4 you can "subscribe" to
this discussion and receive notification when new comments are added.

Comments rated to be Good Answers:

These comments received enough positive ratings to make them "good answers".

Comments rated to be "almost" Good Answers:

Check out these comments that don't yet have enough votes to be "official" good answers and, if you agree with them, rate them!
Copy to Clipboard

Users who posted comments:

Anonymous Hero (2); Anonymous Poster (1); Anthony@ALNO (1); cwarner7_11 (1); Hooker (1); Janissaries (3); MauriceS (1)

Previous in Forum: Gulf of Mexico Oil Spill   Next in Forum: Fall Protection Requirements

Advertisement