Previous in Forum: 220V Frequency Problem   Next in Forum: Loss of Voltage in Receptacle
Close
Close
Close
61 comments
Active Contributor

How to Reduce Energy Consumption (Motors)

02/05/2015 8:56 AM

Hi,

I'm a student, and i have been given a task during my internship, which is a study of the energy consumption of all the motors inside the enterprise, in order to try and come up with a plan to reduce their consumption.

I've done some research, and was able to determine that in order to do so, a speed control of motors so as to adapt it to the load is necessary, as well as the optimisation of their efficiency and regular maintenance.

The problem is that i can't figure out a way to start working on this project, so what i need to know is how to be able to give a solution through analyzing the motors' energy consumption ? and what are the points i need to focus on ? or the motors i need to target ? and which strategy is to adopt in order to be able to succeed in this task ?

And if there are more ideas on the solutions to reduce motors' energy consumption, please feel free to enlighten me.

Thank you in advance.

Register to Reply
Pathfinder Tags: Energy
Interested in this topic? By joining CR4 you can "subscribe" to
this discussion and receive notification when new comments are added.

Comments rated to be Good Answers:

These comments received enough positive ratings to make them "good answers".

Comments rated to be "almost" Good Answers:

Check out these comments that don't yet have enough votes to be "official" good answers and, if you agree with them, rate them!
Power-User
Hobbies - Musician - New Member

Good Answers: 3

Re: How to reduce energy consumption (motors)

02/05/2015 8:59 AM

Turn it off, when not in use or vary the speed according to load or correct volt and current lag.

Good Answers: 1662

02/05/2015 9:03 AM
Register to Reply
Guru