Previous in Forum: Power Density Convertion to Light Intensity   Next in Forum: Camera 360
Close
Close
Close
13 comments
Anonymous Poster #1

Vibration Sensor Compressor

07/21/2018 11:49 PM

my compressor vibration getting high when rain is coming, could you give us explanation about this condition, ( my vibration proximity using 3300 bentley nevada)

are this noise correlation with ground or other external condition???

Reply
Interested in this topic? By joining CR4 you can "subscribe" to
this discussion and receive notification when new comments are added.

Comments rated to be Good Answers:

These comments received enough positive ratings to make them "good answers".

Comments rated to be "almost" Good Answers:

Check out these comments that don't yet have enough votes to be "official" good answers and, if you agree with them, rate them!
Guru

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3989
Good Answers: 144
#1

Re: vibration sensor compressor

07/22/2018 12:15 AM

Barometric air compressor?

Just like my pooch. He shudders before a good storm. 95% accurate too.

__________________
High Tolerance is Beautiful
Reply
Guru

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3989
Good Answers: 144
#2
In reply to #1

Re: vibration sensor compressor

07/22/2018 12:48 AM

The low pressure before a storm may be like using a compressor at high altitude.

Usually an adjustment is in order, but for something temporary.. ?

__________________
High Tolerance is Beautiful
Reply Score 1 for Good Answer
Anonymous Poster #2
#3

Re: vibration sensor compressor

07/22/2018 2:15 AM

Knowing what you are compressing would be quite useful.

Reply
Anonymous Poster #1
#4

Re: vibration sensor compressor

07/22/2018 2:34 AM

The compressor is low pressure compressor from separator on well, before when it's rain is still ok, now every time the rain is coming the compressor is always trip causing by high vibration on compressor radial on DE side,

Reply
2
Guru
Engineering Fields - Mechanical Engineering - New Member Hobbies - CNC - New Member

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 755
Good Answers: 58
#8
In reply to #4

Re: vibration sensor compressor

07/23/2018 3:05 AM

Is this the sort of set up that you are looking at?

If the compressor inlet (suction) is at the DE of the compressor then I would suggest that you are condensing gas in the suction line or the knockout vessel when it rains.

Relatively small amounts of liquid in the suction will affect the vibration especially at the suction end of the machine.

__________________
If you can't explain it simply, you don't understand it well enough. (A.E.)
Reply Good Answer (Score 2)
Guru

Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: About 4000 miles from the center of the earth (+/-100 mi)
Posts: 9048
Good Answers: 1031
#9
In reply to #4

Re: vibration sensor compressor

07/23/2018 10:18 AM

Do you know there is high vibration, or could it be a faulty sensor that malfunctions in conditions of high humidity?

Reply
Guru

Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1621
Good Answers: 111
#11
In reply to #4

Re: vibration sensor compressor

07/30/2018 4:04 PM

Rain "coming" is not definitive, do you mean sequence...

No rain for long time = OK

Rain not yet here [coming] (air pressure, barometer falling) = high vibration

Rain falling on to ground and (outdoor vessels/compressor??) = OK

Rain stops = OK

Do your words "before when it's rain is still OK..." mean "never problem months/years ago" while "now every time...rain... trip" means "this week/month"??

Problem may be "out of specification" quantity of water vapour or condensible vapours/gases coming from well NOW due to underground changes & rain cooling Knock-Out vessel to "dew point" - not compressor fault.

Reply
Guru

Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: About 4000 miles from the center of the earth (+/-100 mi)
Posts: 9048
Good Answers: 1031
#5

Re: vibration sensor compressor

07/22/2018 7:21 AM

Is this compressor part of an AC system. If so, maybe the variable is high humidity. In humid conditions, AC systems may ice up at the evaporator coils which restricts air flow and transfer of heat. In this case, the compressor may be working harder. Just a guess...

Reply
Guru

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: at the beach in Florida
Posts: 30965
Good Answers: 1727
#6

Re: Vibration Sensor Compressor

07/22/2018 1:26 PM

I would check your back pressure valve, it should be maintaining a slight back pressure...

Figure 4. A diagram of a backpressure valve. This one maintains one ounce of backpressure, and is designed for use with atmospheric vessels. (courtesy of Sivalls, Inc.)

..."The basic unit consists of a compressor and some sort of scrubber for removing vapor. Gas is then compressed; it’s important that as much liquid is removed as possible, as the compressor is usually intended for gas only. Liquid in the compressor can end up damaging it. The compressor is necessary as the gas is injected back into the separator; the gas has to be at a higher pressure than the separator. The liquid level in the compressor should be checked regularly. Conversely, these pumps need to be kept lubricated, as dry gas can lead to friction between compressor components."...

You might be getting excess liquid into the compressor....

https://medium.com/@marleerosegreasebook/high-and-low-pressure-gas-systems-in-oil-gas-production-4e13ca354f2b

__________________
Break a sweat everyday doing something you enjoy
Reply
2
Guru

Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 42291
Good Answers: 1662
#7

Re: Vibration Sensor Compressor

07/22/2018 4:30 PM

And, what does Bentley Nevada say about your condition?

Did you even contact them??????

Reply Good Answer (Score 2)
Anonymous Poster #3
#10

Re: Vibration Sensor Compressor

07/26/2018 12:02 PM

What are you compressing?

Reply
Anonymous Poster #4
#12

Re: Vibration Sensor Compressor

11/02/2019 12:32 AM

I read this whole forum but I found one problem while setting probes rack disply gap voltage shows -9.6vdc but we set the probe measured at proximeter is -10VDC can any body tell me why there is the difference in gap voltage .

Reply
Guru

Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1621
Good Answers: 111
#13
In reply to #12

Re: Vibration Sensor Compressor

11/04/2019 6:23 AM

You have not indicated if this is axial or radial probe, or if these are static or running measurements. Or size of bearing & its nominal clearance.

Is the change a trend over a long period or first observation after commissioning?

Clearances/probe volts are set static, with rotor down on bearing. machine may not always stop in same position - particularly axial. Radial will see change as rotor lifts on oil film in motion. Temperature affects bearing & probe, also proximitor box.

Approximately 16V change in volts is 80 mil/2mm so 0.4 volt is 2 mil - a change possible with shaft position

Reply
Reply to Forum Thread 13 comments
Interested in this topic? By joining CR4 you can "subscribe" to
this discussion and receive notification when new comments are added.

Comments rated to be Good Answers:

These comments received enough positive ratings to make them "good answers".

Comments rated to be "almost" Good Answers:

Check out these comments that don't yet have enough votes to be "official" good answers and, if you agree with them, rate them!
Copy to Clipboard

Users who posted comments:

67model (2); Anonymous Poster (4); JE in Chicago (2); lyn (1); Rixter (2); SolarEagle (1); The Prof (1)

Previous in Forum: Power Density Convertion to Light Intensity   Next in Forum: Camera 360

Advertisement