Previous in Forum: material camber   Next in Forum: ISO9000 revision 2005
Close
Close
Close
9 comments
Associate

Horsepower Test for a 9.9Hp Outboard Engine

08/01/2008 2:52 PM

I work in a lab and have been given a 9.9hp outboard boat motor. The customer, he has built this engine himself, has asked us to confirm the horsepower. In other words, he states the engine is 9.9hp and I need to provide proof (data) that it is indeed a 9.9hp motor.

Does anyone know a company that can dyno test it for me or if there is a software package that I can buy? I have about $3000 to complete this project. I am located in Toronto Canada.

Regards,

Interested in this topic? By joining CR4 you can "subscribe" to
this discussion and receive notification when new comments are added.

Comments rated to be "almost" Good Answers:

Check out these comments that don't yet have enough votes to be "official" good answers and, if you agree with them, rate them!
Power-User

Good Answers: 1

Re: Horsepower Test for a 9.9Hp Outboard Engine

08/01/2008 4:21 PM

Borrow 9.9 horses, hook up a chain and pull the other way:

Register to Reply Off Topic (Score 5)
Guru

Location: Milky Way galaxy, Sol solar system, Earth (not Giaha), USA, WA, N.E.
Good Answers: 13

08/01/2008 5:01 PM

I googled 'dyno testing' and came up with www.revsearch.com . This looks like a possible fit.

Good Answers: 245

08/02/2008 2:32 AM

9.9 hp engines are peculiar in that they are really supposed to be less than 10 hp, so they can be used on lakes with hp restrictions. Measuring to 1 percent reliably and repeatably with an average dyno is not all that easy. You may need to research a little (or perhaps your customer knows) how 9.9 engines are certified (or if the regulating authorities take it on faith that they are really less than 10 hp).